BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
    Veteran-Sergeant

Default Stripping finecast

Ok so I have a finecast librarian in terminator armor that I have already painted in Grey Knight colors but I'm taking a different direction with the paint scheme of my GK army and I'm painting them well... grey. In any case I already painted this model and 3 other paladins in the "silver" color and they came out great but I found in the course of painting them that I was getting bored with painting everything silver. So I'm painting the army know in shadow grey with a badbab wash and then detailing. Yet I still have that librarian that i need to strip and repaint. Is there anyone out that that has stripped a finecast model successfully?
    AIRBORNE/AIR ASSAULT

Librarian

unfortunately i have no experience in stripping finecast and have been having similar thoughts, i hope somebody here can help you though (and not just because i am interested).

ALShrive
    ALShrive; found somewhere between fact and breakfast.
    Horseman of the Derailment

Chaplain

I just stripped a finecast Rune Priest with the new paints with simple green. It came out fine, though, the simple green was cloudy instead of clear when I was done. Not sure if it was the model or the paint, but I am assuming the paint. I haven't repainted him yet but the model came out fine.

Librarian

fairy powerspray strips any mini be it metal plastic or esin. i have done them all.

spray can finish that has been on the model a while (mine were 3-4 years old) can stain the top layer of plastics in that colour, but its just a stain not actual paint layer.

Librarian

I've tested Finecast in Dettol, and it came out fine - all the paint came off and the material was untouched.

Quote Originally Posted by MaltonNecromancer View Post
    I've tested Finecast in Dettol, and it came out fine - all the paint came off and the material was untouched.