BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Chaplain

Default Why doesn't superglue work?

OK, I've been building models for over 20 years now and I have never been able to get superglue to actually make any sort of strong bond. I've tried all different varieties, tried putting heaps on, tried putting a tiny amount on, and everything in between. I'm currently using Gale Force 9 hobby glue which comes highly recommended, and still today this happened:

I have some Cadians that I've glued West Wind metal heads on. I carefully filed the heads and Cadian neck holes to make sure they fit, carefully glued them on, waited a week, and then yesterday when I was basing I dropped two of them from seriously about two centimetres (an inch for Amricans) onto a cardboard box and both their heads fell off. I have NEVER been able to get a good bond between plastic and metal, or even between metal and metal.

Am I doing something wrong, or is superglue just not as good as I think it should be? How the **** can I play a game when every time someone falls over their freakin head falls off?

Anyone got any tips?

Veteran-Sergeant

Hmmm, I know what you mean, I don't know whether it help, but when doing a joint between plastic and metal I tend to put a bit of superglue as well as a little plastic glue on. Don't know whether it helps or not, but other than that your only option is pinning really to strengthen the bond or magnets, but then you have to get the magnets to glue in place.
    +++The Imperator Contego Indomitable Fortress+++
    +++The 23rd Joint Assault Group+++

Veteran-Sergeant

Kahoolin try selleys quick dry gel from bunnings
    takes ages to dry but when it does its strong

u can also try some setting agents and other superglue related products that aid in use of the glue

in general superglue does my head in a bit, but you need to find a good one

Theres alot of rubbish superglues out there

Chaplain