PDA

View Full Version : Assault on Black Reach - Paint Scheme for a reborn Noob?!

brody77
08-31-2010, 03:10 PM
Hi all,

Just took a crazy notion to get back into 40k after an absence of about 6/7 years - got the Assault on Black Reach box set as it seemed the best "in" for me.

Thing is, I'm not that keen on painting my marines an Ultramarines scheme.

I've been out quite a while, so considering myself as an absolute beginner all over again.

If anyone has any easy(ish) chapter ideas that I could have a bash at, I'd be really grateful.

If it helps, I've also picked up the Foundation paints set.

Stay tuned for my future posts of "how do I play this again?" Hehe

PS - I did also order the citadel wash set, but it's just been discontinued here in the UK, along with the previous Warhammer 40k paint set - I'd ordered both of these & was starting to think someone didn't want me taking up the hobby again!!

Thanks in advance for any advice, even if it is to tell me Ultras are the best to start off on.

bloodangel 83
08-31-2010, 03:54 PM
Welcome back brody77, i can tell you i also started my army a year ago playing with the Assault on Black Reach boxes and i play Blood Angels. i have 4 boxes of SM as part of my army. It also depends on your playing style as BA are close combat when there are others that are shooting armies, so it depends on how you play if you ask me.

BlackKnight15624
08-31-2010, 03:57 PM
ULTRAS ARE THE BEST TO START ON!

jk- I'm a fanboy.

Blue, Red, and Green are often easy colors to paint, as they can look striking with even a single layer of paint. To that end, here are a couple of chapters you might consider painting:
-Blood Angels (Recommend you use the foundation paint Mechrite Red if you're doing a black undercoat)
-Dark Angels
-Iron Hands/Raven Guard (grouped because of the black color scheme...)

If you're feeling ambitious, the Imperial Fists are a fairly awesome chapter, though yellow can be tough to paint.

brody77
08-31-2010, 04:05 PM