PDA

View Full Version : Tournament help :S

young'un1
07-29-2010, 03:51 PM
Hi guys, I've been practicing alot lately for an upcoming tournament, atm i'm running a variety of Ork and Eldar lists, but i'm having major issues dealing with battlesuit and broadside heavy Tau armies. If anyone has some ideas as to how to deal with these threats i'd love to hear them for both armies :D thanks :)

blackarmchair
07-29-2010, 11:29 PM
Surely, I have a LOT of experience dealing with that kind of list. My good friend runs a list with 9 broadsides and 2 Shas'o teams :(

With Orks you're in pretty good shape. Your best bet with Orks is anything that can get in their face REALLY REALLY fast (just like everything else). How you accomplish this will depend largely on how he kits out his suits. Broadsides and suits bearing many meltas, rockets and other tank-busting equipment will make short work of even battlewagons so bikers (preferably Nob bikers) will be able to get up close and acheive a 2nd turn assault. If he's kitted out with lots of flamers and burst cannons perhaps a mech rush will suffice (just watch out for those railguns). A Mek with a Kustom Force Field will give you a cover save which will help save a few vehicles for at least a turn.

As far as Eldar go I must confess that they are not my area of expertise. From what I know I would reccommend anything that can close the assault distace quickly. Dark Reapers can also make short work of suits from a range even the Tau can't effectively match.

Hope these ideas helped!

BuFFo
07-30-2010, 12:23 AM
Orks ... If you go first, drive your transports up in the Tau's face, full 19", and during your second turn, win the game.

Kommandos are also awesome for beating up and holding up suits.

Kommandos are so under used....

DarkAngelHopeful
07-30-2010, 02:15 AM