View Full Version : 8 ed. Charge distance from deep strike - 8" or 9"???
vebepede
06-27-2017, 02:16 PM
According to the rule book, units entering play e.g. from teleportation chambers must be set up more than 9" from enemy units. Assuming the closest enemy are then charged, a roll of 8 would mean they are still more than 1" from the enemy, so failing the charge. I think this means you need to roll at least 9 when charging from deep strike.
Am I reading it wrong? Has this been FAQ'd?
Drew da Destroya
06-27-2017, 02:34 PM
You're correct. You have to set up more than 9" when "deep striking" or similar rules. So, if you charge, an 8" charge gets you 1.1" away, and therefore fails. You need a 9.
If you roll decently, but not quite high enough, remember that you can use a Command Reroll to reroll one die per phase... this is a good place, since you can keep your higher rolling die, and reroll the lower charge die, and hopefully hit that 9" number.
vebepede
06-27-2017, 03:13 PM
Thanks for confirming. I thought that was the intention but I'd seen other commetns on posts that made me start to doubt.
Denzark
07-04-2017, 04:50 AM
Its just been in the FAQ for confirmation - 9 needed...
Da Gargoyle
10-30-2017, 11:53 PM
The bit that caught me out on this was the Overwatch rule. A lad deep struck 9" from me, shot then charged and made it into combat. But my squad was armed with D-Scythes so were out of range of the deep striking unit. That meant I could not Overwatch because overwatch uses the normal shooting rules which includes weapons range.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.