PDA

View Full Version : Beastmen Competitive?

tgtony
07-22-2010, 01:50 PM
Hey yall, this is my fisrt post on the BOLS forums but ive been a troll for a while! I play 40k (nids and sallys) but since 8th edition has been brought out, my friends who all have fantasy armies as well, are playing more of that now.

Ive had some lizardmen, warriors of chaos, daemons, beastmen, dwarfs, orcs and goblins, and highelves. I have a little from all over. I dont really wanna play a duplicate army of one of my friends, because I already do that in 40k, so my question basically is, are beastmen competitive. How so? Im a newb at fantasy and some of the stuff is a little backwards. Thanks!!

blackjack
08-04-2010, 12:43 PM
I belive beastmen will be the Orcs of the 8th edition. An early army that will be substantially out shone by most army books that follow.

Apart from Minatours nothing in the army stands out at all.

Beta_Ray_Bill
08-04-2010, 06:21 PM
I'd have to agree. For an army that was supposed to be built for 8th, there isn't even that much they offer. I've though of employing a few small skaven tactics, as neither army has really outstanding core choices, but that's really yet to be seen.

They're almost built like a very scaled down version of lizardmen, pardon the pun. But even lizardmen have the "scary" slann, there just isn't too much to compel one to play-to-win with beastmen. Not really in the cards.

KriegXXIX
08-10-2010, 01:34 PM
Here are some thoughts on the subject.
- High damage output due to hatred rerolls.
- Minotaurs, Razorgors, and the big guys are the main damage dealers.
- Leadership and Armor are their big weaknesses.
- Ambush can be a big force multiplier.
- The magic lore can help out a lot.
- Easy access to cheap disposable units.