PDA

View Full Version : New 40K Player looking for feedback!

Scinister
07-05-2010, 01:32 AM
Hi people,
Im new to the game and looking for input. Im putting together my first army. Gonna be a Space Marine Army but cant decide on a chapter. I love the flavor of Dark Angels pre-heresy (Balck color scheme) but understand the codex is about 4 yrs old and not exactly updated. I'm not really into BA or SW since they seem to be what every other new player wants. I will mostly be playing with buddies of mine and not really doin tournament play but im open to any suggestions or army builds you might have. Your input is appreciated!

Col.Gravis
07-05-2010, 02:00 AM
Personally if you love the feel and models for an army I always think thats a good enough reason to collect them. In the case of the Dark Angels yes it's an old book comparitively but it still has some nice tricks up it's sleave, especially with Death Wing, Raven Wing or Double Wing list's, it's the standard marines which miss out somewhat.

That said there will be a new codex eventually so you always look forward to that - or alternatively, and given you mentioned using the pre-heresy scheme especially - you could always just use the Codex Marines list for the time being. Nothing wrong with that, just make sure your opponent knows exactly what's what at the start of a game.

Fellend
07-05-2010, 06:23 AM
If you like the look of it I'd say play them =). Just use someone elses codex. Codex space marines probably works best

Chris Copeland
07-05-2010, 07:49 AM
I always go with what appeals to me visually first and worry about the codex later. If you like Dark Angels (and I can totally see why... they look SWEET) then go with Dark Angels. It's definitely easier to paint up stuff that excites you.

Just a note: only buy and paint about 400 points at a time... it's easier that way.