PDA

View Full Version : 2000pts Beastmen - total noob need help :)

Latro_
06-01-2010, 08:02 AM
Ok so big 40k player always dabbled with fantasy, had a daemons army but dont think it's helping me learn the game much + no one wants to play against it hehe.

So thought i'd branch out into a more mainstream army and take units I like the 'look' of but still be kinda ok on the tabletop.

Can someone tell me if this is glaringly a godawful list?

Beastlord 223
Pelt of shadow gave, Hand Weapon
Shield, Gnarled Hide, Tali Protect

Bray-shamen 125
2x Scrolls

Wargor 89
Great weapon

7 Ungor Raiders 45
Musician, Short bows

7 Ungor Raiders 45
Musician, Short bows

7 Ungor Raiders 45
Musician, Short bows

7 Ungor Raiders 45
Musician, Short bows

18 Gors 169
2x Hand Weapons, Full Cmd

17 Bestigors 234
Heavy Armour, Great Weapons
Full cmd

4 Minotaurs 252
Great Weapons

4 Minotaurs 252
Great Weapons

4 Minotaurs 252
Great Weapons

Giant 225

So the beast lord goes with the bestigors and gives them -1 getting shot at and -2 on magic at them. I'v given him other gear so he has a 2+ save in combat right? trying to keep him alive since the army needs his ld9. Maybe give him the item that makes him stubborn instead?

Wargor goes with the gors.

I have read that gors an bestigors suck royally in the new book compared to other armies, but i wanted the army to look like an army and not just a hodgepodge.

The shamen geared up for magic defence goes with the gors too (ok idea?)

Ungor raiders i'v heard are awesome so i'v got 2 units for screening and 2 to ambush and be a nuisance

I have a lot of the old metal minotaurs and folks have said they are pretty decent so i'v gone for a lot of them, too many?

Giant at the end as no points for the better rare choices and also wont have to convert a huge model.

So idea is lots of big stuff to clump things, solid core of troops and some ungors to cause havoc.

BlacknightIII
06-01-2010, 12:07 PM