View Full Version : Imp Guard Lord Commissar
Tynskel
04-23-2010, 08:08 PM
Here's an iffy one...
I take a platoon, and a Special Weapons Squad p.97 Imp G
I take a Commissar Lord and purchase a dedicated transport. p. 92, 99 Imp G
I reserve both the platoon and the commissar in his transport.
now I attach the Commissar to the special weapons squad, and place them in the dedicated transport. p.94
can this work? The Platoon is rolled as one reserve roll.--- does this effectively make the commissar and his transport apart of that group--- usually dedicated transports are part of the squad, not the independent character.
It makes sense that I can attach the commissar, but I am not so sure about his transport.
Now expand to Al'Rahem p.64 Imp G. Can you attach a character to Al'Rahem's platoon, as well as their transport and outflank? p.94
BuFFo
04-23-2010, 08:17 PM
If the Chimera belongs to the Lord, only the Lord can come in on reserves inside the transport. The special weapon squad needs to walk on by itself.
If the Chimera belongs to the special weapon squad, then the Lord coems in with the platoon inside the transport attached to the special weapon squad.
Eyespy
04-23-2010, 09:11 PM
If the Chimera belongs to the Lord, only the Lord can come in on reserves inside the transport. The special weapon squad needs to walk on by itself.
If the Chimera belongs to the special weapon squad, then the Lord coems in with the platoon inside the transport attached to the special weapon squad.
Not doubting you, but could you quote a page reference?
Tynskel
04-23-2010, 09:30 PM
If the Chimera belongs to the Lord, only the Lord can come in on reserves inside the transport. The special weapon squad needs to walk on by itself.
If the Chimera belongs to the special weapon squad, then the Lord coems in with the platoon inside the transport attached to the special weapon squad.
well, why?
not to mention, the Lord is an independent character, and the Special Weapons squad can attach to the independent character, and both can be in the chimera, because the lord is in the chimera. p. 48, 67
DarkLink
04-23-2010, 11:29 PM
well, why?
not to mention, the Lord is an independent character, and the Special Weapons squad can attach to the independent character, and both can be in the chimera, because the lord is in the chimera. p. 48, 67
That should work, as the squad becomes part of the Lords unit, and only the Lords unit can use the chimera, meaning the squad + Lord can use the chimera.
Edit: Normally, you can't attach an IC to a unit until the unit is deployed, but you can put both units inside a vehicle to attach them together. But then what comes first, attaching them to allow them to be in the chimera, or going in the chimera which they can't do 'till the lord is attached...
Tynskel
04-23-2010, 11:36 PM
p. 94--- you can attach characters to squads in reserves.
Nabterayl
04-24-2010, 01:11 AM
Hmmmm ... I'd certainly allow it, but I note that page 67 states that a dedicated transport "can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters)." Since the heavy weapons squad is not an IC, and the Lord Commissar is the unit the Chimera was selected with, I'd say that technically the Lord Commissar's Chimera could only be deployed with the Lord Commissar and another IC (e.g., two Lord Commissars could be deployed together in one's dedicated Chimera).
BuFFo
04-24-2010, 05:22 AM
p. 94--- you can attach characters to squads in reserves.
Yes, this is it.
You can attach an IC to a unit. You cannot attach a unit to an IC. Might not sound like a big difference, but yeah.
The Chimera is a IC's transports, and since it is Dedicated, ONLY the unit that puchased it PLUS an IC you attach to that unit can start the game in it.
You cannot do the opposite as far as I am able to read and understand the rules on 94.
Get what I am saying?
Tynskel
04-24-2010, 02:19 PM
yeah, I do-- it is what I thought.
It just sounds grey... monotone grey...
Basically, if you want your Special Weapons Squad to start in a Chimera, you have to buy a Lord with a Chimera, and start both the Platoon and the Lord on the board.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.