Log in

View Full Version : Vanguard Vets charging



Hendrik Booraem VI
12-28-2015, 06:16 AM
Fairly simple question: Vanguard Veterans can be equipped with Jump packs. Units with Jump packs may reroll their charge distance if they are using their jump packs to get into close combat. Vanguard Veterans also have heroic intervention, which means they can re-roll one or both dice when determining charge distance.

So Vanguard vets get 4 chances to make charge range, correct?

Roll 2 dice - re-roll 1 or both dice (Heroic Intervention). Didn't make it?

Jump-pack re-roll: Roll 2 dice - re-roll 1 or both dice (Heroic Intervention again).

Or is there some rule that says you can't get double re-rolls?

Mr Mystery
12-28-2015, 06:48 AM
You can't normally re-roll a re-roll.

However, Heroic Intervention gives you new options.

For instance, say you're going for your charge, and the Dice Gods decide to gob on your cornflakes with a double one. Clearly, you'll re-roll both dice.

The next turn, you go another charge. The enemy unit is 8" away, and feeling a bit more benevolent, the Dice Gods give you a roll 1, 6. So you're an inch short. With just a Jump Pack, you have to re-roll both. But Heroic Intervention allows you to keep that precious 6, giving you a much better chance of finally connecting that charge.

Hendrik Booraem VI
12-28-2015, 07:16 AM
So you can only choose to use the jump-pack re-roll and re-do both dice, or use the Heroic Intervention re-roll and choose 1 or both dice to re-roll?

Mr Mystery
12-28-2015, 07:54 AM
Yup.

son_of_volmer
01-07-2016, 07:53 PM
Which Codex are you using?

Heroic Intervention in the Blood Angel's codex says:
-you ignore penalties for disordered charge
-autopass Initiative in Glorious intervention.

I didn't know this rule was changed between codexes.