PDA

View Full Version : Mephiston Rules (and a rules question)

PsionicFox
04-02-2010, 09:13 PM
Okay, so I got the BA, and I immediately checked out Mephiston (who's been my favorite psyker, and character since I started playing 40K).

Now, I note that Mephiston is not an Independent Character, which, to me, means he's a unit of one who can only be joined by a HG (because it's a retinue), or other Independent Characters (like Dante). Now, one of the other aspects I noted is that Mephiston is immune to Zugwort's Curse, because it targets Independent Characters.

Now, my friends claim he's not immune, because if he's alone (ie. not joined by another IC, or a retinue), he counts as an IC. So I wanted to see what the geniuses here on BoLS had to say.

I now declare that the court is in session.

Lord Inquisitor
04-02-2010, 09:22 PM
If he doesn't have the IC special rule he is not an IC. Also I wouldn't think he could be joined by an honour guard.

Nabterayl
04-02-2010, 09:33 PM
Yeah, if he's not an Independent Character then he can only be joined by Independent Characters. It'd be no different than having a squad that consists of 1 model.

PsionicFox
04-02-2010, 09:36 PM
The HG squad rules state you can take one for every HQ choice you can take.

Perhaps he can't be joined by one, but they can stay within 2 inches, granting him the benefit of FNP from the priest, along with a potent squad that can follow him into assaults (and since he's a unit by himself, they either have to ignore the HG, or ignore Mephiston - either choice is pretty dangerous.

Nabterayl
04-02-2010, 09:45 PM
The HG squad rules state you can take one for every HQ choice you can take.
In that case he'd certainly unlock an Honor Guard squad, yes.