PDA

View Full Version : Blood Angels WIP Blog

bonswizzle
02-09-2010, 06:38 PM
So i've started my first attempt at a blog, charting my new Blood Angels Army after a complete re-start in the hobby ( after a goodfour year absence). I'm primarily a painter and like to share tips with fellow hobbyists, so if you fancy a read (only two posts so far) feel free to check it out, more pics to come when I work my camera out!

http://redbristles.blogspot.com/

Madness
02-09-2010, 08:03 PM
You seem to be going for a very crimonsish red, as an oldschool guy I'm used to more orangey red. Other than that you're off to a nice start.

P.S.: stared better at the zoomed image, one way you could easily improve the look is with a white dot on the lenses to convey the glass feeling, and a quick wash on the chest aquila.

I also noticed you went with the red shoulder trim (some sources have them with a black trim, with sergeants having black pads with red trim).

wittdooley
02-09-2010, 08:27 PM
Looks good. I'd maybe add some highlights or a wash to the chestpiece to give it some depth. I'm personally waiting to paint my BAs until the new stuff comes out; I know there will be all kinds of yummy accessories and other goodness to add to my BAs that I already have.

bonswizzle
02-10-2010, 04:14 AM
Thanks for the replies guys, I did an Ogryn Flesh wash to the chest aquila, it looks shaded in my hand, but didn't convey so well through the photograph, I only have one lamp you see, but my photos will hopefully improve soon. Dreadnought nearly done... Perhaps a Devlan mud wash would help enhance the aquila?

I went with the more crimson red as I feel it looks more realistic, I found the orangey one a bit too bright and garish for me personally, and I went with the red shoulder pad rims in keeping with my more recent theme.

I didnt want to overdo the red highlight as it can end up looking orange with too much, so went for subtlety.

Thanks again! Check my blog soon for more pics!

Cheers :)