PDA

View Full Version : I6 MC immune to JOWW?



gcsmith
02-02-2010, 05:47 AM
Heres a quick question are I6+ monsterous creatures immune to JOWW. I know there are people who will say 6 always fails. However MC minus one from the roll making it a 5. Therefore I6 or probbaly 5 monsterous creatures are immune. Is my interpitation correct?

whitestar333
02-02-2010, 07:33 AM
I believe that the "6 always fails" takes precedence, as much as I'd wish otherwise. I guess it comes down to whether the "result" of a 6 means before or after modifiers.

Lord Azaghul
02-02-2010, 07:47 AM
Heres a quick question are I6+ monsterous creatures immune to JOWW. I know there are people who will say 6 always fails. However MC minus one from the roll making it a 5. Therefore I6 or probbaly 5 monsterous creatures are immune. Is my interpitation correct?

its a long established precdent that if you have to roll for it you can still fail it.

Consdire a models with a bs of 6. The rules state they get a reroll, but they can still miss.
Ini/toughness checks in both systems state that a rolling a 6 is always a fail, even if your stats are that high.

MVBrandt
02-02-2010, 08:19 AM
I think the question's relevance is more based upon the fact that the monsters subtract one from their roll, and so would at highest roll a 5. That said, I think the JOWW rule states that an unmodified roll of a 6 always fails, but I can't recall for sure.

gcsmith
02-02-2010, 10:13 AM
It states a roll of a 6 always fail. however When looking at other rules in both fantasy and 40k the modifier can change the result. Like +1 to ur dice can stop a miscast and cause irresistable

Lord Azaghul
02-02-2010, 10:18 AM
. Like +1 to ur dice can stop a miscast and cause irresistable

I'm not sure if you typod that or not. BUT most of the time, unless specifcally stated you can't modify those rolls. I know the magic rule spefically state you need a nature 3+ to cast anything. So a HE with a +1 to cast will still roll a miscast if he rolls double ones. The same is true if he rolls an 11 (5 and 6) the +1 modifier simply means that his score is 12, but he has not roll irristable.

gcsmith
02-02-2010, 11:17 AM
There are rules that say +1 to a DICE ROLL not attempts. which is the same wording as Minus 1 from their roll with the JOTTW. Anyway im just wandering if ive interperated it right. not really worried overall

Sir Biscuit
02-02-2010, 11:36 AM
I agree that the Space wolves codex is unclear on this, but if you take a look at the main rulebook...:

Page 8:
"During the battle, a unit might have to take a test on one of it's characteristics, commonly its strength, toughness, or initiative. For example it might have to test its toughness to resist the effects of a lethal gas.

In order to take the test, roll a D6. To succeed, you must score equal to or lower than the characteristic involved. Note that if a 6 is rolled, than the model automatically fails the test regardless of the characteristic's value and any other modifiers that might apply, and conversely a 1 is always a success."

Emphasis mine.

I6 monstrous creatures still fail on a 6.

gcsmith
02-02-2010, 12:21 PM
KK just wandering otherwise it doesnt mean anything for I5+ MC

Ymir
02-02-2010, 12:27 PM
This is the entry for Jaws of the World Wolf....word for word:

The Rune Priest implores the spirit of the world upon which he walks to open its rock-fanged maw, and a chasm cracks open under the feet of his enemies, sending them tumbling to thier deaths.

As a pyschic shooting attack, the Rune Priest may trace a straight line along the board, starting from the Rune Priest and ending 24" away. This line may pass through terrain. Monstrous creatures, beasts, cavalry, bikes, and infantry models that are touched by this line must take an Initative test (see Characteristic Tests in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook). If the model fails the test, it is removed from play. Monstrous creatures may subtract one from thier dice roll due to thier trememdous size and strength, though remember that the roll of 6 is always a failure.

Ok now for the Baisc Rulebook page 8. Here is the word for word description of Characteristic Tests.

During a battle a model might have to take a test on one of its characteristics, commonly Strength, Toughness or Initative. For example it might have to test its Toughness to resist the effects of a lethal gas.

In order to take the test, roll a D6. To succeed, you must score equal to or lower than the value of the characteristic involved. Note that if a 6 is rolled, then the model automatically fails the test regardless of the characteristic's value or any other modifiers that might apply, and conversely a 1 is awlays a success.

Of course, if a model has to take a test for one of its characteristics with a value of 0, it automatically fails.

This is what we know:

A Monstrous Creature with a Initative of 6 + Hit with Jaws of the World Wolf (which since it's a MC gets to subtract 1 from the roll) rolls a 6 + Characteristic Tests via the BrB (a 6 is rolled, then the model automatically fails the test regardless of the characteristic's value or any other modifiers that might apply) = A Monstrous Creature removed from game.

gcsmith
02-02-2010, 12:30 PM
kk ty i wanted to know :p

Sir Biscuit
02-02-2010, 12:58 PM
KK just wandering otherwise it doesnt mean anything for I5+ MC

You are correct. Once a monstrous creature is I5 or higher, he effectively receives no bonus against JotWW.

Though it still helps you if your I5+ creature's initiative is lowered for any reason, like getting hit by a thunder hammer.

Tynskel
02-02-2010, 08:49 PM
P. 8
Rulebook

Note that if a 6 is rolled, then the model AUTOMATICALLY FAILS the test REGARDLESS of the characteristic's value or ANY OTHER MODIFIER that might apply, and conversely a 1 ALWAYS a SUCCESS.

Tah Dah!

Read the rulebook

it tells all...

gcsmith
02-03-2010, 01:59 AM
well Codex trumps rule book so.... rule book spamming wouldnt have as much vadility

Sir Biscuit
02-03-2010, 10:18 AM
The rulebook has all the validity in the world on this situation. There's nothing in the codex that says you don't fail on a six on this test, so you fail. It doesn't matter what the modifier given to the roll is in the codex... 6 fails.