PDA

View Full Version : Eldar Jetbikes Assault move rule question



O'Moros
10-07-2014, 12:59 AM
Hello,

I have the following rules question. The Eldar Jetbike entry in the rulebook, mentions that unless the jetbike has turbo boosted it can make a 2d6 move in the assault phase and does not mention that the jetbikes cannot charge afterwards. The "same" kind of move made from jetpack units is called a thrust move and specifically mentions that they cannot assault, but in the Jetbike entry it does not mention this.

I am inquiring since a friend noticed this rule and has started hyping about it and how he can even use this after assaulting since it does not mention it cannot do it either before or after a charge, as the jetpack unit entry does.

Btw, i am new here and to the hobby in general have started playing Tau around 1 year ago.

Mad Cat
10-07-2014, 10:00 AM
If you do a 2D6" move into contact with the enemy in the assault phase it is called a charge. If you do a 2D6" move in the assault phase because you are on a jetbike and are not trying to contact the enemy then that is done instead of a charge not as well, before or after a charge. You can of course move 1D6" after combat as a consolidation move assuming you finish off the opponents.

hyudun
10-07-2014, 04:18 PM
I'm actually not finding anything that explicitly says the 2d6 non-charge movement precludes you from charging as well.

Mad Cat doesn't provide an except for his/her assertion either.

However, I strongly believe that the intent was it to be mutually exclusive with charging, based on precedent set by smoke grenades, run/turbo-boosting, etc, but given that I don't have a verbatim to back this up, if you were being obstinate about it at my table, I'd make us roll off.

Houghten
10-07-2014, 04:25 PM
Well, look at it the other way around: can you find anything, anywhere, in any GW or FW publication, that lets you move any unit whatsoever more than once in the same phase?

hyudun
10-07-2014, 04:30 PM
Well, look at it the other way around: can you find anything, anywhere, in any GW or FW publication, that lets you move any unit whatsoever more than once in the same phase?

Not sure that's relevant since specific rules override general rules.

Gwhizz84
10-07-2014, 04:36 PM
I haven't played since 3rd edition so I don't actually have a clue, but don't you have to declare charges at the start of the phase? would preclude charging after utilising that move

JMichael
10-07-2014, 04:36 PM
Well, look at it the other way around: can you find anything, anywhere, in any GW or FW publication, that lets you move any unit whatsoever more than once in the same phase?

Not that it allows it in this case, but a unit can move 3 times in the Assault Phase (Charge, Pile In, Pile In/Break/Consolidate).

hyudun
10-07-2014, 04:48 PM
I haven't played since 3rd edition so I don't actually have a clue, but don't you have to declare charges at the start of the phase? would preclude charging after utilising that move

Great thought. Looked into it:
(1) The Assault phase is split into the charge sub-phase and fight sub-phase
(2) The Eldar Jetbike rules does NOT specify where in the Assault phase it occurs
(3) The Assault phase rules does NOT specify that the declaring charges must be the first actions done for the phase

So it still leaves room for the E-Jetbike's 2d6 move to occur before charges are declared.

The lack of specificity also leads me to believe that the 2d6 move was meant to completely supplant the normal operations of a charge and remove the option of declaring a charge to begin with, but again, nothing explicit to back myself up here.

thepolytheist
10-07-2014, 04:54 PM
I had always assumed the 2D6 move replaced regular Assault phase actions, but the book specifies that Eldar Jetbikes treat terrain differently if they do the 2D6 move AND charge. This implies you can do both, but I would assume you'd have to do the move before the charge.

Pssyche
10-07-2014, 05:12 PM
I'm actually not finding anything that explicitly says the 2d6 non-charge movement precludes you from charging as well.

Mad Cat doesn't provide an except for his/her assertion either.

However, I strongly believe that the intent was it to be mutually exclusive with charging, based on precedent set by smoke grenades, run/turbo-boosting, etc, but given that I don't have a verbatim to back this up, if you were being obstinate about it at my table, I'd make us roll off.


Completely agree.
Furthermore, and bearing in mind I play exclusively Eldar, I wouldn't try that interpretation on anybody, as I don't believe that was intended at all.

hyudun
10-07-2014, 05:36 PM
I had always assumed the 2D6 move replaced regular Assault phase actions, but the book specifies that Eldar Jetbikes treat terrain differently if they do the 2D6 move AND charge. This implies you can do both, but I would assume you'd have to do the move before the charge.

Actually, you can interpret the intention of the wording to not actually imply that you can assault and charge, but to clarify that the -2 to movement for charging through difficult terrain didn't apply to non-charge movements in the assault phase.

BPar
10-07-2014, 06:08 PM
I had always assumed the 2D6 move replaced regular Assault phase actions, but the book specifies that Eldar Jetbikes treat terrain differently if they do the 2D6 move AND charge. This implies you can do both, but I would assume you'd have to do the move before the charge.

On page 467 of the iPad version of 7th BRB, it states: "When Eldar Jetbikes move in the Assault phase and do not charge, they treat difficult terrain in the same way as they do in the Movement phase."

Just noticed GW removed if turbo-boosting then you cannot make any more voluntary moves during that turn. GW states that Eldar jetbikes cannot assault move if they Turbo-boost but don't say anything about not charging. I'm more confused now. :confused:

Edit
D'oh, ignore my last paragraph.

O'Moros
10-08-2014, 02:30 AM
Well so from what you guys are saying, the verbatim per se does not exclude this use but the intention is not this. So we are off to another rule that we have to roll off on, should one wants to use it this way?? Bummer but thanks guys.