View Full Version : Mind in the machine question
Brekinnexx
08-11-2014, 09:47 PM
Anrakyr the Traveler, Necron HQ, has mind in the machine, allowing you to take control of target enemy vehicle and use it during the shooting phase.
Q1: is there any rule that states you cannot use this ability on a Reaver Titan?
Q2: assuming that is allowed, is the enemy vehicle considered friendly, or an enemy unit you simply control? Reason why is shooting rules state you must target enemy units during the shooting phase. If it is viewed as an enemy unit, is there any reason why it would be able to shoot itself seeing that Anrakyr is controlling it?
As silly as a situation as this sounds, it is a current discussion amongst our group so I figured I would turn to this forum to find some enlightenment.
Brekinnexx
Katharon
08-11-2014, 11:44 PM
Anrakyr the Traveler, Necron HQ, has mind in the machine, allowing you to take control of target enemy vehicle and use it during the shooting phase.
Q1: is there any rule that states you cannot use this ability on a Reaver Titan?
Q2: assuming that is allowed, is the enemy vehicle considered friendly, or an enemy unit you simply control? Reason why is shooting rules state you must target enemy units during the shooting phase. If it is viewed as an enemy unit, is there any reason why it would be able to shoot itself seeing that Anrakyr is controlling it?
As silly as a situation as this sounds, it is a current discussion amongst our group so I figured I would turn to this forum to find some enlightenment.
Brekinnexx
A1: No there is no such rule. If it's a vehicle, of any kind, you can take control of it.
A2: A model cannot intentionally shoot itself. There have been times when short range Demolisher cannon shots have gone awry and hit the tank that fired them, but for a Titan, it is unlikely to have weapons capable of hitting itself. Besides which, it would likely be far better to use the Titan to hit another Titan or aim for a large concentration of HQs, vehicles, etc.
Mr Mystery
08-12-2014, 04:29 AM
Yup.
And I reckon it's much funnier to take control of a Deathstrike, mostly because it's a one shot wonder, and dropping on the enemy is good for a laugh :p
Katharon
08-12-2014, 07:36 AM
Yup.
And I reckon it's much funnier to take control of a Deathstrike, mostly because it's a one shot wonder, and dropping on the enemy is good for a laugh :p
That would be such a moment of glory to see the hatred mixed with fear as the original owner of said deathstrike, who had patiently waited a few turns for better firing ability, to see his one-shot missile-o-death suddenly turned against him/her.
Charistoph
08-12-2014, 09:51 AM
That would be such a moment of glory to see the hatred mixed with fear as the original owner of said deathstrike, who had patiently waited a few turns for better firing ability, to see his one-shot missile-o-death suddenly turned against him/her.
Assuming you can get the roll to fire the dang thing. And most of the weapons the Titans have access to are Blast of one kind or another, so hitting yourself is a possibility with the right target and the wrong scatter.
Brekinnexx
08-17-2014, 07:55 PM
A1: No there is no such rule. If it's a vehicle, of any kind, you can take control of it.
A2: A model cannot intentionally shoot itself. There have been times when short range Demolisher cannon shots have gone awry and hit the tank that fired them, but for a Titan, it is unlikely to have weapons capable of hitting itself. Besides which, it would likely be far better to use the Titan to hit another Titan or aim for a large concentration of HQs, vehicles, etc.
Thank you but I do have a follow up. Since the necron HQ is controlling it, would it still be shooting at itself? I know it is nit picking, and normally a model is in control of itself so in that aspect it could not shoot itself, but seeing it's being controlled by an outside force, would that still apply?
Weapon restrictions would of course, IE angles and direction facing (seeing that the rule specifically states you cannot change facing of the enemy model).
Brekinnexx
Katharon
08-17-2014, 10:34 PM
Thank you but I do have a follow up. Since the necron HQ is controlling it, would it still be shooting at itself? I know it is nit picking, and normally a model is in control of itself so in that aspect it could not shoot itself, but seeing it's being controlled by an outside force, would that still apply?
Weapon restrictions would of course, IE angles and direction facing (seeing that the rule specifically states you cannot change facing of the enemy model).
Brekinnexx
Once the Necron HQ "takes it over" the vehicle thereafter, for that moment, is counted as being YOURS. Ergo, it's not able to shoot itself. No model is ever able to shoot itself, vehicle or otherwise -- intentionally. Like I said before, the only way to hit yourself is a really bad Scatter Dice roll. And even then, trying to have a Titan shoot itself in the foot is a really foolish way to spend your control of said Titan. If this is your end-all-be-all for trying to deal with a Titan then you're in need of more tactical lessons than I really care to give.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.