View Full Version : Where Is This Damn Rule!
Caitsidhe
06-28-2014, 09:36 AM
I am putting in bookmarks in my file so I can jump to key rules, and I can't find one. I know it is in here because I read it at least a couple of times as I went through the book. I'm looking for the specific rule that states you cannot assault if you went first. It is clearly hiding in plain sight.
Mr Mystery
06-28-2014, 09:44 AM
Huh?
New one on me.
I know that certain units with certain special rules can't assault on the first turn if they went first, but can if they went second?
Caitsidhe
06-28-2014, 09:46 AM
Huh?
New one on me.
I know that certain units with certain special rules can't assault on the first turn if they went first, but can if they went second?
Doh. That is probably what I read and why I can't find it, i.e. is part of Infiltrate. Thank you. That jarred my memory. Need caffeine to be doing bookmarks.
vharing
06-28-2014, 02:05 PM
The scout rule says that if you scout moved you cant assault
John Bower
06-28-2014, 03:13 PM
Yeah, infiltrate or scouts can't assault on 1st turn. anyone else can though. :) Orks in a trukk may just make that now with their new dex.... hehe.
JMichael
06-29-2014, 01:47 PM
Yeah, infiltrate or scouts can't assault on 1st turn. anyone else can though. :) Orks in a trukk may just make that now with their new dex.... hehe.
Just to super clarify, Infiltrators and Scouts are only prevented from Assaulting on turn 1 IF they deployed using the Infiltrate rule and/or made their special Scout move.
RGilbert26
06-29-2014, 02:38 PM
Where's the rule which says you can't charge after getting out of a vehicle? (unless its a vehicle with assault vehicle special rule).
This Dave
06-29-2014, 02:45 PM
Where's the rule which says you can't charge after getting out of a vehicle? (unless its a vehicle with assault vehicle special rule).
Under "Disembarkation Restrictions" in the Transport Vehicle section (page 501 in the iBook version).
Harley
06-29-2014, 04:05 PM
In regards to this, I had an argument in 6th where my Jump infantry was deployed 24" away from the enemy. I went first and moved them up 12" then rolled 12" on the assault charge. The opponent claimed I couldn't charge because the deployment specified "more than 24 inches away" so technically the models were 24.1" away from each other.
Does this wording still exist in 7th edition? I can't find it anywhere.
John Bower
06-30-2014, 02:15 AM
Most deployment is shown in diagram format; where you deploy 12" or more from the centre line which of course would be 24", so yeah, if you move 12" and aren't an 'infiltrator' and didn't use a 'scout' move; you can charge, and if that charge is also a lucky roll of 12", you get into combat; just tough on your opponent.
Mr Mystery
06-30-2014, 03:33 AM
Most deployment is shown in diagram format; where you deploy 12" or more from the centre line which of course would be 24", so yeah, if you move 12" and aren't an 'infiltrator' and didn't use a 'scout' move; you can charge, and if that charge is also a lucky roll of 12", you get into combat; just tough on your opponent.
Which is why you always, always only deploy 11.5" on, and no more. Prevents all that unpleasantness.
Except with Orks of course, who can go well fast in a Trukk!
RGilbert26
06-30-2014, 07:23 AM
Under "Disembarkation Restrictions" in the Transport Vehicle section (page 501 in the iBook version).
Ah okay just read it, fair enough makes sense :)
Harley
06-30-2014, 08:04 AM
See, I agree with you guys, but I have specifically been told in tourney's that deploying 24" away means "more than 24 inches away", and thus models are actually 24.1 inches away, making first turn assault impossible. I just don't know if this is a 6th ed thing or I was duped all along.
40kGamer
06-30-2014, 08:29 AM
See, I agree with you guys, but I have specifically been told in tourney's that deploying 24" away means "more than 24 inches away", and thus models are actually 24.1 inches away, making first turn assault impossible. I just don't know if this is a 6th ed thing or I was duped all along.
Guess it's all how people interpret this. Based on the way I've seen it at tournaments it is no closer than 24". Gunline players typically make sure they deploy farther away but if both players deploy on the line they are exactly 24" away.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.