PDA

View Full Version : Grey Hunters and "Free" Special Weapons

Cryl
01-15-2010, 08:04 AM
I've always understood this to mean that taking any primary special weapon for the cost allows you to take any secondary special weapon, so taking a flamer as your first one allows any secondary one from flamer, melta or plasma for free.

This is also the way that it's implemented in the Army Builder datafile, granted that doesn't make it true but it does support the thinking above.

optimusjedi
01-15-2010, 08:04 AM
I am new to the hobby and am working on my Space Wolves army (those novels got me hooked on 40k!). In the codex it says that a Grey Hunter squad may take a flamer for free (nice!). Now it also states that if the Grey Hunter squad may take a second special weapon for free if the squad numbers 10 models. Now I am going by the recently released FAQ that this is Grey Hunter models only (no Wolf Guard included yet).

So can I then take say a meltagun for free as well? In the FAQ it says that a Grey Hunter squad must take the first weapon choice "at normal points cost".

So I guess the real question is does this work like buying something at the store (Oh yes, the second DVD is free but the first DVD is always the more expensive one, i.e. I buy a $20 DVD and the $5 one is free). Or may I take the flamer as my first choice and then also get a meltagun for free as well?

Thanks everyone!

Cryl
01-15-2010, 08:38 AM
Sorry double post... I blame the "wait 30 seconds" thing

DarkLink
01-15-2010, 01:45 PM
You only get one special weapon. You buy one for the normal cost. Then, if you have a 10-man squad (not counting Wolf Guard), you get a second weapon for free.

Yeah, the 30 second reply is annoying...

Ordo
01-16-2010, 12:23 PM