PDA

View Full Version : Imperial big ship candidates...?

LordGrise
05-01-2014, 04:30 PM
Well met, all! ::quick bow to the assembled from the 40K boards::

So I'm in one of the local game stores - Dragon's Lair, here in San Antonio - and I watch the San Antonio chapter of the X-wing minis game do their thing. Yeah, I'm busted... esp since I could literally buy the entire game, big ships included, for about half the price of a 40K army. Before buying the books. I'm in.

So my stuff is on order, (Rebel to start) and I got to thinking - what the blazes will FF use for the Imperial counterparts to the Corellian Corvette and the Rebel Transport? Did a little research, and apparent front runners are the Customs Cutter and the Vigil-class corvette... but I am a total newb at this, so I thought I would pop on here and see if I could get some rampant speculation going. That way I got more stuff to research...

And as an aside, and to further demonstrate my total newbishness, I get the impression that I want to get some of the Imperial ships as well down the line, for the cards?

Barbot is right over there, and I'm buying, so have at, gentles all. Oh yeah, the soy crispies here aren't half bad, either. The 'bot says please have your ID handy for when you order.

Bigred
05-02-2014, 12:34 AM
I'd say it depends on whether FFG wants to pick direct counterparts to the Rebel transport and Corvette, or they will increase the scale a bit and scale up slightly to include the small-medium capitol ships.

I'd say look for things from:

Vigil-class Corvette (a decent CR-75 equivalent) on the small end
Nebulon B Frigate (if they want to move up the scale tree) on the bigger end

There are tons of Imperial transports listed here:
http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Transport

LordGrise
05-02-2014, 01:29 PM
Ooooh, links galore... thanks, Big Red!

bfmusashi
05-03-2014, 12:05 PM