PDA

View Full Version : Need help building competitive Raven Guard

BlkRseFenix
04-02-2014, 09:46 PM
Hi all, I've been playing for almost 20 years and have never been much of a competitive player. My circle of gamers and I play fluff army lists. I've only played a dozen or so games under the current rules. My local store is going to be holding a tournament for 1850 pts. and I was hoping I could get some input on what is a viable tourney list.

Here's what I have so far:

Pts. Unit
185 Shrike
130 5 Scouts- Missle Launcher, Sargeant w/Melta Bombs, Land Speeder Storm w/Multi-Melta
130 5 Scouts- Missle Launcher, Sargeant w/Melta Bombs, Land Speeder Storm w/Multi-Melta
177 6 Assault Marines- Vet Sgt. w/Power Axe and Plaspistol and Melta Bombs, Flamer, Plaspistol
184 7 Assault Marines- Vet Sgt. w/Power Fist and Plaspistol and Melta Bombs, Flamer, Plaspistol
Storm Wing Data Slate
240 Storm Raven- w/Twin-Link Lascannon, Twin-Link Multi-Melta, Hurricane Bolters, and Stormstrike Missles, Locator Beacon
145 Storm Talon- w/Twin-Link Assault Cannon, Twin-Link Heavy Bolter, Typhoon Missle Launcher
145 Storm Talon- w/Twin-Link Assault Cannon, Twin-Link Heavy Bolter, Typhoon Missle Launcher
225 5 Terminator Assault Squad- 5 Thunderhammers
280 3 Centurion Devastators- Lascannon and Missle Launcher

1841 Total

What do you guys think? I normally run 3 Tactical Squads and 20 Assault marines, so this is a little outside the norm for me. Any input would be appreciated.

DarkLink
04-02-2014, 10:27 PM
Frankly, Assault Marines are terrible. Ravenguard are also generally outclassed by the other CTs, but you can do funny stuff with it. Namely, take ~60 Tactical Marines in Rhinos and combat squad everything. You don't have much offensive output, but that many Marines that can Scout in your face puts a lot of pressure on an opponent and you'll have 10+ scoring units, so it's surprisingly effective. Throw in a few Drop Pods, Thunderfire Cannons, etc, and you have a solid army.

Anggul