PDA

View Full Version : Parenthood.

Mr Mystery
03-24-2014, 02:49 PM
Evening all.

For those who have seen it in the Off Topic thread, I'm now officially in a relationship with the delightful Annabel. And with Annabel, come Kira and Kain, aged 5 and 4 respectively.

Which means, I've gone from being a footloose and fancy-free nigh on permanent singleton bachelor, to a sort-of Step Parent to two very awesome sprogs. Sprogs who unfortunately have something of a deadbeat Dad who by all accounts doesn't take a great deal of interest in his offspring...

Whilst I'm very happy with this general situation, and went into it fully eyes-open, I am experiencing some level of panic. After all, the change in circumstance is so jarring it might well be a poorly written, cheaply produced Hollywood film. Probably starring Jennifer Aniston and Luke Wilson, or some other god awful combination of frankly terrible actors.

I have very little experience of small people, and don't consider myself to have much instinct for that sort of thing.

So far, all I've been doing is just treating all three of them. Nothing too showy, but we did spend a really nice Sunday at Sealife down in Brighton, which the kids loved, and Annabel really enjoyed too.

But what of the future? When they're behaving, no problem at all. But discipline? I'm a soft touch and I know it. Annabel is however, a very strong Mum and doesn't stand for any nonsense. Main concern here is that I might start to undermine her authoritah, with the kids working on me for my soft touch.

Bits of this keep very slowly dawning on me. For instance. Kain, being a 4 year old boy, is something of a handful, and prone to strops. Good part of this is due to a general lack of a consistent male role model, someone he can rough house with but knows how to calm things down.

Help me Bolsy Wan Kenobi! You're a really good source of informations and support and that!

Nabterayl
03-24-2014, 03:22 PM