PDA

View Full Version : 1850 Tyranid List

harrytown
03-24-2014, 11:44 AM
Hey I am new to tyranids and was wondering if the following army list looked semi-competitive. I have only played two games one against space marine with blood angel allies and the other against necrons.

HQ:
Hive Tyrant wings Two Twin linked brain-leech devourers

Elites:
3x Venomthropes
2x Zonethropes

Troops:
30x Termaguants (10x devourers)
Tervigon

Fast Attack:
25x Gargoyles
Hive Crone

Heavy Support
Tyrannofex acid spray
Exocrine
Maloc

The one thing that I think the list is week on is troops but other than that it has worked pretty well. Thanks in advance any advice is appreciated.

Martyn Powell
03-24-2014, 12:31 PM
Interesting I run something similar.

Just a few things on how you play some of the models.

The Hive Tyrants... Are you using them primarily as FlyingMonCreatures (FMC) or as Mon-Jump-infantry (MJI). Also are they being supported by the crone?

Elites I would split the venoms into two units of 1 each. that way you can spread the coverage of their AOE shrouded about and not worry about one unit taking all the hits. (Look for dark reapers firing krak missiles which ignore cover...)

Zoanthropes are fine, I usually run with 2, just to fire blast/lance at something and have a decent chance of hitting.

Troops, I hate having the tervigon tax of 30 termagants however that being said tervigons are a solid troops choice if in cover with a venomthrope. Not only that but they create more troops... yay! I would however be inclined to drop the devourers.

Gargoyles... how are these being used? Personally I don't use them, but they can be used as an effective screening force. But without upgrades they will get minced in assault and having only a 12" S4 AP5 Assault 1... I won't be that scared of them. I would drop these and give yourself 150pts back.