View Full Version : Ork Crazy With Ork Crazy (p.59 & p.42)
ccjazz38
03-16-2014, 02:07 PM
I have a great question for the Orks codex. I had Mad Dok in a unit of Tank Bustas. Mad Dok must try and move towards and assault nearest enemy if possible “One Scalpel Short..rule” (flyers don’t count unless he can assault it). Tank Bustas have “glory hog” rule which says the same thing but only for vehicles (must shoot at and assault vehicles if they can). Key difference is Mad Dok = nearest / Glory Hog = vehicle (does not have to be nearest). Back in the good old days, must assault meant you could shoot something and still assault whatever is in range…not sure in 6th ed. Here is where all the questions come into play:
1) I would imagine Mad Dok makes his unit run towards nearest enemy. Or do I choose to move towards nearest enemy infantry or enemy vehicle?
2) Say I run towards nearest enemy and it is an infantry unit, in charge range…there is a vehicle in range of Tank Bustas unit shooting but out of charge range…Glory Hog says I have to shoot at a vehicle…can I shoot at vehicle and still assault infantry unit because of Mad Dok?
3) Same as #2 but say infantry and vehicle is both in charge distance… I shoot at vehicle and do nothing… do I assault infantry because it is closer do to Mad Dok? or can I choose what to charge, infantry or vehicle of my choice, do to Glory Hog rule after shooting?
So I guess in a nutshell of what I am asking is: because of these two combined rules (Glory Hog & One Scalpel Short)..can I always assault a unit in charge range if I shoot something else? also Because of these two rules, Can I choose what to assault Vehicle or Infantry if both units are within charge range?
SquigBrain
03-16-2014, 10:20 PM
I have a great question for the Orks codex. I had Mad Dok in a unit of Tank Bustas. Mad Dok must try and move towards and assault nearest enemy if possible “One Scalpel Short..rule” (flyers don’t count unless he can assault it). Tank Bustas have “glory hog” rule which says the same thing but only for vehicles (must shoot at and assault vehicles if they can). Key difference is Mad Dok = nearest / Glory Hog = vehicle (does not have to be nearest). Back in the good old days, must assault meant you could shoot something and still assault whatever is in range…not sure in 6th ed. Here is where all the questions come into play:
1) I would imagine Mad Dok makes his unit run towards nearest enemy. Or do I choose to move towards nearest enemy infantry or enemy vehicle?
2) Say I run towards nearest enemy and it is an infantry unit, in charge range…there is a vehicle in range of Tank Bustas unit shooting but out of charge range…Glory Hog says I have to shoot at a vehicle…can I shoot at vehicle and still assault infantry unit because of Mad Dok?
3) Same as #2 but say infantry and vehicle is both in charge distance… I shoot at vehicle and do nothing… do I assault infantry because it is closer do to Mad Dok? or can I choose what to charge, infantry or vehicle of my choice, do to Glory Hog rule after shooting?
So I guess in a nutshell of what I am asking is: because of these two combined rules (Glory Hog & One Scalpel Short)..can I always assault a unit in charge range if I shoot something else? also Because of these two rules, Can I choose what to assault Vehicle or Infantry if both units are within charge range?
1) yes, Grotsnik makes the unit move towards the nearest unit, no matter if it's infantry or vehicle. (Purely my opinion here, as I believe that since he is leading the mob, the conflicting rules ( Mob move toward nearest vehicle, Dok move toward nearest enemy) are resolved in favor of the Dok's rule, since he's leading the unit
2) If at the end of your move, the enemy is beyond 12", you must, according to the Dok's rule, run toward them. Running means no shooting from the tankbustas.
If they are within 12", you wouldn't run, because the Dok is planning to charge. However, then the Glory Hog rule kicks in, and the tankbustas fire at the nearest vehicle, provided it is in range. The assault phase comes around, and you can't assault the infantry unit, because you fired at a different unit. Also, you can't assault the vehicle, because the Dok wants to go after the infantry. You stand there and do nothing.
3) If the vehicle is closest, you can shoot it, then assault it. If the infantry is closest, you shoot at the vehicle, and stand around in the assault phase.
This is all IMHO.
Nabterayl
03-16-2014, 10:42 PM
EDIT: After reviewing the ork FAQ a second time, I actually think SquigBrain has it. The fact that Grotsnik is allowed to board a vehicle "in the spirit of the rule," but only if doing so would not prevent him from charging that turn, suggests to me that SquigBrain's analysis of #2 is the correct way to read it. In the same way, "in the spirit of the rule," it seems that Grotsnik's unit would not be allowed to shoot if doing so would prevent him from charging.
ccjazz38
03-17-2014, 01:45 PM
This (Mad Doc and Glory Hog) needs to be fixed some how some way. Wish the new Ork codex was the next one to come out. I will call GW today (not that it helps most of the time) just to see what they say...but as of 6th ed and what you guys are saying...I will prob go with what was said. No shooting something and assaulting something else. If I combined the 2 units and Mad Doc is in charge range then I won't shoot with Tank Bustas. Even though Tank Busters must shoot...guess it is my choice to shoot or not if both a vehicle and infantry unit is in range. Thx all!
P.S. Please GW creators...If you do nothing else in the new Ork codex please do one thing for me and all Ork army fans....Change the "mob up" rule! Mob up should equal unmodified wounds...not models in a unit. A squad of 5 Nobz should be the same as a Ld 10 (5models x 2wounds per = 10). I'm tired of my big brave war hungry Nobz running off the table like all the other smaller Orks.
Nabterayl
03-17-2014, 02:03 PM
It's worth pointing out that Glory Hogs does not actually require the tankbustaz to shoot at anything. It only says that if they shoot, they must do so at the nearest visible enemy vehicle. They can choose to run instead, as the ork FAQ clarifies. Given that, it seems like One Scalpel Short of a Medpack would take precedence, since it does require Grotsnik's unit to move at the fastest possible speed towards the nearest enemy.
SquigBrain
03-17-2014, 02:48 PM
It's worth pointing out that Glory Hogs does not actually require the tankbustaz to shoot at anything. It only says that if they shoot, they must do so at the nearest visible enemy vehicle. They can choose to run instead, as the ork FAQ clarifies. Given that, it seems like One Scalpel Short of a Medpack would take precedence, since it does require Grotsnik's unit to move at the fastest possible speed towards the nearest enemy.
Hmmm...Yeah, sounds like if you combine these two (which really doesn't seem like a good idea), the tankbustas would actually never get to shoot.
ccjazz38
03-17-2014, 03:18 PM
It's worth pointing out that Glory Hogs does not actually require the tankbustaz to shoot at anything. It only says that if they shoot, they must do so at the nearest visible enemy vehicle. They can choose to run instead, as the ork FAQ clarifies. Given that, it seems like One Scalpel Short of a Medpack would take precedence, since it does require Grotsnik's unit to move at the fastest possible speed towards the nearest enemy.
Not fully true it says for Glory Hogs p.42 = "They must always attempt to shoot at and/or assault an enemy vehicle if there is one in line of sight, regardless of range." Not closest..but must be in line of site. I talked to GW just now...and they told me you do each of there rules in what ever phase your in...so in shooting phase, unit must shoot at a vehicle...this stops the entire group with or without Mad Dok from charging if it is not what the group shot at. So putting Mad Dok in the group only helps them gain Feel no Pain and adds another Power Claw to smash vehicles apart, because if Tank Bustas shoot, they mess up almost all assaults towards infantry....closest or not. Which sucks rotten eggs in my opinion!
Pretty much what SquigBrain was saying.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.