PDA

View Full Version : Ultramarines By The Book - The Only Way They Know How!

SanJefe
02-27-2014, 02:19 PM
OK, OK, I know everyone hates the Ultramarines, and I know how they get compared to certain short Belgium characters, but I don't care. I love them!

I've followed the hobby since the late 80's without ever really getting completely immersed, but about 3 or 4 years back I finally decided to take the plunge and paint myself a 40k army. Ultramarines were my first choice as I'd always lusted over their pictures in White Dwarf and the various codices.

I've been painting slowly and in an on and off fashion over the last few years and finally have a force that's probably worth sharing. Still got a lot to add, and I particularly need to bulk up on the vehicles (yes, I know, Smurfs only have short legs!!) but it's getting there!

Here's some pics so far. Highlights for me personally, are the vets (painted recently), the 2nd company banner (I'm not an artist so am quite proud of my effort!), and my Land Speeder and Predator which are fully magnetised to allow all the options. Lowlights are the Scouts which I painted fairly early on and the fact that they're not overly imaginatively painted. But Ultramarines are by the book, which allowed me to practice my painting with a good template to work from, and I can always get some more Scouts to paint up! :-)

Oh, and the only transfers used were on the Scouts...everything else is freehand.

Credit for some of the more "arty" shots goes to my daughter.

Enjoy!

SanJefe
02-27-2014, 02:30 PM
And some more....

Bigred
02-27-2014, 03:16 PM
Welcome and well done!

I love a nice clean Ultramarine army!

Darren Richardson
02-27-2014, 03:57 PM
I like your painting, the army looks well done, and did you say the banner was all freehand, if so that is one very good banner.