PDA

View Full Version : Help Painting Black Space Marines(Raven Guard)

themandalorian
12-24-2009, 12:07 AM
Now I'm new to the Hobby so bear with me please (academy program at GW on the 26th). However I wanted to know what Paints I should possibly buy right now. I bought the Citadel Spray can, as well as brushes. I am wondering though how I should do it, some people in the store recommended 2 options, white basecoat, black foundation paints, then detail, or just black primer and detail. I'm guessing, and some people told me, that priming white, than adding an undercoat of black would look better. However the store manager said the foundation black paint isn't sold seperately. What am I to do? Surely black space marines aren't a rare sight. Suggestions?

Oh and specifically I'm going Raven Guard, thanks!

edit: Sorry I'm probably worrying to much but I wanted advice from some experienced painters

Sorry for the double post browsers acting weird.

ok so I guess I have a few options I guess.

I could also prime black. Then thin out a black paint and lightly paint over the models. Then prime all shoulder pads white, paint the inside black, and the trim red (since I want the red and black trim)

Or I could do the above and try to use the spray gun with chaos black thinned out? Or should I use a grey foundation paint (since its already pre measured to thin it out on the spray gun) over the blakc primed models, will it be dark enough. Orrrrrrr would mixing 2/3 grey and 1/3 black be ok to still use the standard thinning measure? Because this sounds a little easier.

Or final Option, Black Primer, 50 50 mix of water and Chaos Black, add accents/ touch up with a grey (codex grey)? White primer on shoulder pads paint with chaos black and add a crimson red on the shoulder pad trim

http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/mediawiki/images/6/68/M1860546_RavenguardOpener.jpg

gorepants
12-24-2009, 12:52 AM
Hi themandalorian,