PDA

View Full Version : Special Rule: Fear + Icon of Despair

Richard Tiberius Logue
02-14-2014, 11:37 PM
Does Fear stack (or get added like that in some fashion)?

I ask because I'm looking at Raptors in the Chaos Space Marines Codex (6th edition), and I was thinking I'd want to give them Marks of Nurgle and an Icon of Despair.

The unit already sports the Fear Special Rule by default. The Icon of Despair gives the Fear Special Rule to the unit that runs around with it. Do the two Fears stack in some manner?

If not, then it's a waste of 10 points for the Icon, right?

If it does, in what way does it? Can you point me to the rules in the 6th edition book that explains it.

Thanks! 40K noob here. Returning to the game after a 20-year hiatus.

Richard

jonas the jedi
02-15-2014, 03:48 AM
I don't think it would stack. Haven't even thought about it though. Frankly you just reminded me raptor have fear. Gonna have to move them up my to do list.

Anggul
02-15-2014, 06:57 AM
Yup, doesn't stack, totally pointless.

It's never worth buying an Icon of Despair. Fear is something you just throw onto units pretty much for free, it isn't worth paying extra points for as so many armies are either immune to it or aren't good enough in close combat for it to be worthwhile even if it works.

Chaoschrist
02-15-2014, 07:27 AM
Seems fairly redundant, but then again... it's only 10 points. The only benefit it gives is the little boost in close combat results, which might not be worth 10 points. Adding an Icon of vengeance might be worth more if you want to add an Icon, though IoV is more expensive. That, and fearless raptors seem to be marginally useful. Worth considering if you were to give them Veterans of the long war and run a blob of 10 raptors (and just hope they don't snipe your icon).

Tiberius
02-15-2014, 07:47 AM
Thanks, guys!