PDA

View Full Version : what would you pay for a modeling/painting session?

gillus
12-18-2009, 06:32 PM
If your local GW or local hobby store charged you for a one on one session on modeling/painting your models how much would you be willing to pay for said hour session?

If all you had to bring was your models and the rest was supplied.

lobster-overlord
12-18-2009, 07:08 PM
Are you asking about one hour of time at their tables using their paints and tools, but you painting your model?

Nothing. I'd go across town to the store that offers that free of charge (we have one that does...it's a great selling tool, because they also give free lessons).

Duke
12-18-2009, 08:56 PM
If I was a beginning painter I would pay 10-20 for that most likely 10 per session.

eagleboy7259
12-19-2009, 12:14 AM
Depends on the environment. If its a GW store or I know theres going to be someone there who could help out my painting I think I would pay up to $20-30 for it. If it's just pots of paint and everyone for the most part doing their own thing without like a decent and helpful painter there then I would pay $10-20-ish, but without something 'extra' there I would more likely just keep my cash and buy my own paints.

MajorSoB
12-19-2009, 06:48 AM
The correct answer is nothing, zero, ziltch, nada, not a red f-ing cent!

If a store owner values you as a customer and wants to sell his products along with modeling supplies like paint, glue, etc then they will gladly help you learn techniques to use these products free from cost.

I have sat in on several painting demos and with the exception of the overall con fee paid absolutely nothing for them. I have also given many lessons and charged absolutely nothing as well. There are plenty of online sites that will show you techniques especially some good YouTube videos. Someone who enjoys this hobby will be glad to help you and share their knowledge. Anyone who charges is a tool and is missing the boat.

Never pay, period!

Gotthammer