PDA

View Full Version : Will Dipping Hinder Your Painting Skill Progress?

Dark_Templar
12-16-2009, 10:48 PM
I am fairly new to the painting scene, and love the modelling but am not a very confident painter. Would using something like quickshade to start with hinder my potential in the future?

I know it is hard to say for sure, but I am guessing something like dips could become relied upon and overused.

Is it best to leave the dip on the shelf and follow the "practice makes perfect" method and have enough Simple Green on the shelf to get me out of trouble?

Lerra
12-16-2009, 10:54 PM
If you are dipping the basic troops but taking time to paint HQs, nice elite models, and other things that stand out in an army, your painting skill shouldn't suffer.

Even expert painters will sometimes use the dip method to speed-paint hordes of gaunts or other small troop models.

Morgrim
12-16-2009, 11:31 PM
The dip method ca get the bulk done quickly, and then you can go back and pick out key bits on the model. If you stuff them up, it won't make a difference at tabletop level, and as you improve you may start trying fancier things. Besides, dips progress pretty easily into washes, which even experienced painters use when painting at the army scale.

Dark_Templar
12-17-2009, 03:26 PM
Thanks all. My Citadel Foundation and Badab Black should be turning up today, so I will have a crack over the weekend at going no-dip, with wash.

I will also purchase a quickshade next Wayland purchase and give that a go.

Cheers for the feedback.

DT.

Duke
12-17-2009, 04:52 PM
I just wanted to throw my two cents in.

I have found that some of the easiest way to paint the minis is through a wash over a foundation paint. It is very fast (except for waiting for the wash to dry) and looks great.