PDA

View Full Version : Necrons Represent?

Brosef Stalin
12-14-2009, 06:12 PM
Hey all -

I'm a newbie 40k player, got into it over the summer with the Black Reach Space Marines, and while I enjoy my small army, I really enjoy the idea behind starting a Necron army. I know they haven't had a new codex in ages, but I was wondering if anyone out there is still playing/enjoying Necrons?

I had heard from a couple people that now's not the best time to start playing Necrons, but I can't get over how awesome they seem. So, whaddya think? Are they fun or are they simply too old to be competitive without a new codex drop?

Artein
12-14-2009, 06:37 PM
If you really like them, go with them. Of course it'll be rough and hard, painting same miniatures will be boring as hell....
but the feeling when you look at your lovely tiny soldiers and they are starting to look like an army - priceless.
It won't be easy, but when new Codex: Necrons will show on shop shelves, you will already have an army ready to play and you will knew that all this time, all this pain, it was not in vain.
:cool:

Chumbalaya
12-14-2009, 06:40 PM
Necrons are just terribad currently, they have an old codex and 5th edition has done them no favors. If you really want to get into it, go nuts, but remember that you're up for a very steep learning curve and pretty much a handicap in every game.

Necrons can work, but it's really specific as to what's good and what's not.

Read this (http://bnhblog.blogspot.com/search?q=necrons), hope it helps.

Nabterayl
12-14-2009, 06:40 PM
Also, can you define "competitive?" If you mean, "Are they still powerful enough that they can win games with nothing more than a skilled player?" then the answer is yes.

Subject Keyword
12-14-2009, 06:44 PM