PDA

View Full Version : Nurgle Lord WIP - Sammael falls

Desmond Kenny
12-24-2013, 03:51 AM
Hello all

This is a series of firsts for me - it's my first time posting here for a start. This is also my first attempt at using green stuff and the first time I bought a model with the express purpose of chopping it up :)

I wanted to make a really strong looking Nurgle Lord on a Bike, and I really wanted it to stand out as a centerpiece. I thought Sammael was an ideal candidate as his Jetbike was nice and sturdy - I was looking for a model that showed toughness with (a bit of) speed. The cloak was also ideal. At first I was going to add tracks to it, but then looking at my other army I had a better idea. More on that later....

For now, here's the start of the project. I removed the plasma canon and all space marine details and trimmings (apart from some skulls). I also removed Sammael's head, which was kinda fun, and replaced it with a helmed chaos warrior's head. I've added chaos bolters and a trophy spike, as well as a Skaven banner. The horn is from Warriors of chaos also, but was removed later.

I removed Sammael's sword and replaced it with a combination of a chain-sword handle and the flail from a Flagellant (to use as a Black Mace).

Next, I'll show how he really graduated to centerpiece status...

Desmond Kenny
12-24-2013, 04:22 AM
Next step was to raid the Tyranid bits box...

A few of my plague marines have Tyranid mutations, so this fits really well.

Fitting the legs was a little tricky, but not too bad with some fitting cuts and the help of some green stuff.

The real challenge was getting them all level. The trick in the end was to use a flying base to get them all to set... a bit of a risk to leave overnight...

But a success!

In the end, one of the rear legs had to be raised and re-glued, but this gave the model a bit more of a dynamic look. All of the other 7 legs are perfectly level, which I'm really happy about.

More to come...

dirkspair