PDA

View Full Version : Wolf problem

Company Master Bardiel
12-21-2013, 07:18 PM
I want to start a fluff, fun, Space Wolf army using Ragnar Blackmane. Space Wolves were my first army when I started playing 2nd ed and I am being pulled back to them trying to get back into 40k. I played Imperial Guard and Dark Angels in 5th ed but have not played any 6th ed. From what I have read Grey Hunters in Drop Pods seem to be the way to go.

I do not want to use fortifications if possible as this does not fit the fluff that I want. I'm also wanting to use Blood Claws and try to have more infantry than vehicles. I do not know much about escalation, stronghold assault or the data sheets that keep coming out.

The only model I kept was my Storm Talon as I became quite fond of it.

I plan on using a lot of magnets to make the most of the bits in the box. That way when the new dex hits (I know it is about a year away) I'll be able to change weapons as needed.

I'm not wanting to win tournaments just to good times and fun games.

So down to the Q&A. Do you NEED allies to have a chance to win? Can I play a fun & fluffy list and still win games? What are the current must have units?

Ursa
12-21-2013, 07:34 PM
No u don't need allies. I win with my Wolves all the time. I love fluff armies. Like Four Wolf Priests leading an army of Blood Claws and Swift Claws.

My favorite is my thirteenth Warriors army. Based upon the movie the thirteenth Warrior. Ten Wolf Guard a wolf Lord, Wolf Guard Leader and a rune priest (Ebin.) . I have all thirteen in both Terminator Armor and power armor with matching weapons. Ebin's armor is Space Wolf Colors but no icons.

Company Master Bardiel
12-21-2013, 08:03 PM
How do you have them equipped? A friend of mine made a similar list with Logan, Njal, Bjorn, Lone Wolves and Wolf Guard.

Katharon
12-21-2013, 08:20 PM
Yes. Yes. Grey Hunters, Thunderwolf Cavalry, Fenrisian Wolf Packs, Long Fangs.

Ursa
12-21-2013, 08:24 PM