PDA

View Full Version : A question about GW mini alternatives

ealiff
12-05-2013, 12:51 PM
Hey all,

A little background: I started playing 40k a few months ago and picked up Grey Knights as my army of choice. Love the idea behind Paladins and just liked the overall feel of the army. After realizing that I had begun my 40k career by picking one of the possibly cheesiest armies, I decided to branch out into other segments of the GK codex, specifically the Inquisition side. I liked the flexibility of different henchmen within that section, but was frustrated by how difficult it would be to find those models; no GW store carries them, and the price for them seemed annoyingly high to get a good variety of the minis. That is where my question comes in. I found a site (yoymart.com) that sells what appear to be 40k minis (knock-offs?) at a nice discount. I decided to purchase a few of the Jokaero Weaponsmiths (http://www.yoymart.com/en/games-toys/warhammer/warhammer-40k-model/warhammer-40k-grey-knight-jokaero-weaponsmith.html)
as those were one of the henchmen units that first caught my eye.
After purchasing them, I'm fairly happy with how they look. I haven't had a chance yet to paint them, so the jury is still out there. My question, though, is this: how does the rest of the community look at sites like these? I apologize in advance if I have opened Pandora's box!

Morgrim
12-06-2013, 06:58 AM
The reason no stores were carrying them is they're a rarely purchased item so considered a waste of shelf space. However if you ask your local GW store they can order it in for you and the company will simply send it along with the next regular delivery to the store, which is handy because you don't have to pay any shipping costs.