PDA

View Full Version : Any good ideas for an Eldar army?

TonyaPatrick
08-30-2013, 09:41 PM
I am a newb to warhammer 40 k. I decided on Eldar as my army of choice. I am not really very sure of how to compose the best army list or how to determine what is most competitive. So far I have an old eldar battle force -the one with the War walker-, a Fire Prism, 8 Eldar Scouts from the 80s and 90s, a box of Eldar Rangers, a Farseer, Prince Yriel and Illic Nightspear. I really like the Iyanden craft world and am partial to magic. What suggestions do all of you have?

pauljc
08-31-2013, 02:03 AM
I suggest researching any Eldar info you can get your hands on. Get that new Codex, immerse yourself in the fluff, and see if any of the particular Craftworlds speak to you.

Please, please, please, PLEASE do NOT pick an internet list. By all means use the internet for reading about Eldar stuff, tactics and lists. Use internet lists as informational guides when you make your own, but don't take it as gold when some website or another says, 'A is better than B' - that's horse poop.

See, the miniature hobby is about collecting miniatures, not army lists. So buy miniatures that appeal to you, build a collection. That way you can make a hundred army lists.

Personally, what I usually do with a new army is start with a basic idea, say 1500 points, that I determine to be fun to play, fluffy, and at least somewhat efficient and capable. Then I just collect miniatures. Doesn't have to be huge purchase. Just a box a month or something. Right now I am aimlessly painting Black Legion Marines. They don't have a specific purpose yet, but when the day comes that I want to field three blobs of twenty of those evil *******s, I can do it.

So yeah, my top tips:

1. Research
2. Collect minis, not lists
3. Read the internet
4. Then forget the internet
5. Buy stuff you like, to hell with what people say is 'better'

DarkLink
08-31-2013, 02:45 AM