PDA

View Full Version : Demonhunters Rules Check



bonedale
11-19-2009, 01:26 PM
Hi all, just two rule checks for my beloved DH. I own the codex, but borrow the 5th edition rule book when playing with my mates, so I am not 100% sure on the following.

First, I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this one, but anyway:

1. Psychic Hood from DH codex has unlimited range. Did the 5th edition rule book change this, or is it simply revised in current SM and SW codex's?

2. Official word on Force Weapons? Insta-kill or just outright from a Grand Master?
I know folks will jump on the "Use the DH codex" but my problem with this is, it's revised in the 5th Ed Rule Book. NOT in the Universal Special Rules section that states, "use your codex rules instead" but in a separate section. So it doesn't appear to fall into the "use your codex", rather, Force Weapons throughout the 40k world have been revised.

That's all.
Thanks

Mycroft Holmes
11-19-2009, 01:35 PM
1) The SM Lib hood has 24" range because the newest Codex lists it that way, not the BRB.

2) C:SM lists Force Weapons and then you look the rules up in the BRB; meaning they deal Instant Death. C : DH still has the "Slay outright" wording so most people say that it doesn't use ID because the Codex specifically lists how it works.

Nabterayl
11-19-2009, 01:36 PM
Hi all, just two rule checks for my beloved DH. I own the codex, but borrow the 5th edition rule book when playing with my mates, so I am not 100% sure on the following.

First, I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this one, but anyway:

1. Psychic Hood from DH codex has unlimited range. Did the 5th edition rule book change this, or is it simply revised in current SM and SW codex's?
Just revised in the codices. Almost certainly this is the direction they're heading, but for now, the DH psychic hood has unlimited range.


2. Official word on Force Weapons? Insta-kill or just outright from a Grand Master?
I know folks will jump on the "Use the DH codex" but my problem with this is, it's revised in the 5th Ed Rule Book. NOT in the Universal Special Rules section that states, "use your codex rules instead" but in a separate section. So it doesn't appear to fall into the "use your codex", rather, Force Weapons throughout the 40k world have been revised.
Kill outright. Again, they're almost certainly heading toward Instant Death, but the DH codex still takes precedence. As an example, imagine if your codex said, "A power fist is a power weapon that triples its user's Strength (up to a maximum of 20)." There would be no doubt that your power fists tripled Strength and overrode the normal rule that Strength can't go above 10., even though the rulebook very plainly spells out what a power fist does. Same situation here - yes, the rulebook specifies what force weapons do, but your codex says differently. If you want to get really pedantic about it, technically, a grand master's force weapon gives him two psychic abilities: one that "kills outright" and another that inflicts Instant Death. Take your pick as to which one you use ;)

DarkLink
11-19-2009, 02:37 PM
Unlimited range psychic hood ftw. Though I never end up taking them:rolleyes:.

And our Force Weapons have nothing at all to do with Instant Death in any way shape or form. We use a seperate, different and unique means of killing the enemy. We're awesome like that:D. The only time you should ever let someone tell you DH Force Weapons inflict Instant Death is if you are at a Tournament that made a ruling on that. Even then, that'd be a stupid ruling. It's not like everyone complains about how broken Daemonhunters are. Let us have what few advantages we can cling to:(.

bonedale
11-19-2009, 03:19 PM
So in other words, until our Codex states, rules for **** in Main Rule Book, we reference our Codex for better or worse.

This might be somewhat related. Can (and what different ways) can a PAGK squad end up in transports? There doesn't seem to be a rule stopping them now that any unit can get into a "dedicated" transports after deployment and of course meeting other requirements.

So I see them getting into rhinos/chimeras from a DH parent list, Chimeras from inducted guard, and Chimeras from IG parent list. Is this correct? Viable, who knows.

Nabterayl
11-19-2009, 03:59 PM
That's correct, nothing stops PAGK squads from getting into Chimeras (or Valkyries/Vendettas) if they can get their hands on them.

Duke
11-19-2009, 04:28 PM
Gw had it right when they did the 3rd ed codecies when the said "refer to BRB," or "refer to Codex: SM" Then they messed it all up by describing things specifically in the codex. Point: Dark Angels, Blood Angels, etc.

Duke

DarkLink
11-19-2009, 05:50 PM
That's correct, nothing stops PAGK squads from getting into Chimeras (or Valkyries/Vendettas) if they can get their hands on them.

However, dedicated transports taken from the Daemonhunters codex still follow the old Dedicated rules. But those rules are attached to the transport, not the unit. So yes, PAGK squads can get into a Chimera from an allied IG platoon, for example. They couldn't get into an IST Rhino, though.