PDA

View Full Version : Your favourite Codex ever ?

Deadlift
08-06-2013, 05:04 PM
Hi folks
Just thought I would pick the minds of some of you fine people and see what your favourite codex is or was, doesn't have to be current. Could be from any edition. But which one (or two, maybe 3) codex have you enjoyed most and why ?

It could be because of the fluff or how it played. The model release that accompanied it. Any reason you care to give.

Me I only started playing in 2007 during 4th edition so I don't have as many of the books to choose from. However 2 spring immediately to mind.

1. The 2008 space marine codex. Despite all the books that came after this one, all the codexes that changed the so called "meta" etc. the likes of Grey Knights, Space wolves, Necrons and now Tau as examples. I have always been able to make a Space Marine list that could stand its own against almost anyone's army. Granted I do not play tournaments etc, but no matter what came after this codex that seemed new and better, the good old 2008 vanilla codex kept going strong.

2. The current Ork codex, another army that's still strong in the right hands. But that's not why I love it so much, it's the fluff. Seriously anyone looking for 40k related humour has to read the Ork codex. It's lots of fun to read and always worth a chuckle.

Over to you guys and gals :D

Thaldin
08-06-2013, 05:10 PM
I still have my copies of the Compendium and the Compilation from the Rogue Trader days. I love those two. So much in them.

SON OF ROMULOUS
08-06-2013, 05:16 PM
I happen to love the SM codex from 4th edition. the endless possabilities when it came down to making your own chapter are what made me create my own space marine legion. then there was 5th which while i don't hate the codex i do despise that in order to get a unique legion you had to take a special character. It was what made me move to Chaos when that book dropped. which then got ruined anyhow :(

daboarder
08-06-2013, 05:20 PM
Chaos 3.5