PDA

View Full Version : 750 Point escalation league - CSM

Jaerith
06-26-2013, 09:20 AM
Hello,

I'm a complete 40k beginner, starting out in an escalation league. The league starts with a 750 point core that is added to over the league, and I'd like some advice on a starting foundation. My first list, based on models that just `look like fun', is:

HQ:
2x Chaos Lord, Mark of Khorne, Juggernaut, Power Weapon
Fast Attack:
2x 3 bikers, meltabomb.
Heavy Support:
obliterator
maulerfied
Core:
10 cultists
5 marines, rhino

My second list, based on stealing some units that look popular, is:
Fast Attack:
Heldrake with Baleflamer
HQ:
Demon Prince, Mark of Nurgle, black mace, wings, armour
Core:
2x 5 marines, rhino, havoc launcher
Heavy Support:
obliterator

Are either of these reasonable starting points? Any suggested minor changes? At the moment, I own whatever comes from Dark Vengeance plus two battalion boxes, and a few miscellaneous miniatures. I really like the big monsters in chaos, if that wasn't obvious from the lists, and would love to find a place for spawn as well.

Thanks!

Themaninthegreenhat
06-27-2013, 02:57 AM
Hi!

and welcome to the magical world of 40K!

i'm going to assume that you've been playing fantasy before, and that may be the reason as to why you've got a small troops choice. (This is pure prejudice based on me going from Fantasy to 40K i considered troops/core the unfortunate fee for fielding an army) .

Now i play GK and DA, and I've only played against Chaos...never actually, I'm pretty new to the game as well. So take these hallowed words with some salt.