PDA

View Full Version : In the Grimdark future, there are only PMCs

Fenriryan
06-20-2013, 04:18 AM
Lo all.

Its my first time putting up my works for show round these parts, so I hope you like.

I have 2 armies, Tau being my one true love, but as many of use do, I have a 3+ army.

Since Tau are so much "shot first, screw questioning", I wanted something capable of smacking you about as much as shooting you, and I went for Space Wolves as I like the Counter Assault rule and the idea of Lone Wolves and Wolf Guard working as a unit or splitting off to lead units.

But I wanted to avoid being REALLY Space Wolf-esque, in fact, being very power armoured at all. So instead I decided to make an army based on the idea of it being a private military contractor known for putting the beatdown should you try it on.

And from that basic brief, all manner of cool conversions spawned forth. Here are some fo the core stand out elements.

Ogre Class Assault Mech - Rifleman Dreadnought

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/p206x206/931153_10152967401035305_1991706717_n.jpg

An Ironclads body with Sentinel legs and a Aegis Quadgun for the weapon systems with some extra gubbins. The searchlight looks like a huge eye, and the "utility munitions launcher" rack in his chest looks like a side on mouth. Surprising easy to marry the two together, and the Ironclads hunter killer cowls made great thigh armour.

Damocles Command Speeder - Damocles Command Rhino

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/983578_10152967403225305_1763667153_n.jpg

When the Dark Angels came out and this model was released, most of us, including our resident die hard Dark Angel players thought it was a terrible model, but I thought I could do something... Stripping back all the cathedral-ish pieces and mounting sensor arrays made for a neat looking command platform. You can also the heads I used across all my models - they are from Pig Iron are really make all the difference.