PDA

View Full Version : questions about reserves



droozy
06-13-2013, 06:11 PM
Hello,
So I have two questions regarding reserves;
First, the rulebook states that a player is allowed to have up to 50% of their units in reserve. This number is rounded up and does not include units that must begin the game in reserves or units embarked on transports that must begin in reserves. By that logic a 1000 point grey knights army that includes a 10 man strike squad, an HQ and a dreadnought embarked on a storm raven gunship and a squad of terminators in reserve is legal though nothing would be in the table at the beginning of the game. The danger would be if you are unable to get the termies or the storm raven out of reserves turn one you lose. Is this a correct interpretation of the rules?

Second, does the 50% cap apply to each detachment (for armies using allies) or is it an overall number for all units under your control?

Thanks for the input

Nabterayl
06-13-2013, 07:16 PM
You have the dangers of the null deployment correct. There are a few armies that can still do it, though they seem to be steadily stripping that ability from the game as they update armies for 6th edition.

The 50% cap is for your entire army. The rule just says "up to half of their [players'] units."

jifel
06-13-2013, 07:45 PM
Seeing as how you can't get reserves turn one, wouldn't you just auto lose?

droozy
06-13-2013, 07:59 PM
You can't get reserves turn one? Do you have a page number for that?

jifel
06-13-2013, 08:50 PM
Unless there's a special rule involved (Drop Pods come to mind, and there's a GK character I think) reserves start turn 2. Start rolling during turn two, see page 124

Magpie
06-13-2013, 08:58 PM
You can't get reserves turn one? Do you have a page number for that?

Page 124, the earliest you can roll for reserves is at the start of turn 2.

chicop76
06-13-2013, 09:00 PM
Granmaster Mordock, which fnp and it will not die would be awesome on.

Example:

Strike squad
Strike squad

Mordock 5 ghost knights
Paladins land speeder
Deepstiking dread knight

That would be legal since transports do not count. Land speeder I meant to say storm raven.

If you are wiped out from the board at theend of turn 1 or any game turn you lose.

Example:
turn 1:
Nids go first and wipe out the knight on the field
Greyknight turn mordock comes in via ds.
End of turn 1 game still goes on since greyknights still have units on the board.

Turn 2
Nids kill mordock and wipes the board
Greyknight turn and no reserves come in
End of turn 2 no greyknight models are on the board, so they lose the game to the nids.

chicop76
06-13-2013, 09:03 PM
Page 124, the earliest you can roll for reserves is at the start of turn 2.

Drop pod assault, Dark Angels, Grand Master Mordock can all deep strike on turn one.

Most units have to deep strike turn 2
Turn 2 +3
Turn 3 +3
Turn 4 auto come in.

Awesome to fly off turn 3 to come back on turn 4 in a better position. Hell drake for example.

DarkLink
06-13-2013, 09:16 PM
Granmaster Mordock, which fnp and it will not die would be awesome on.


Too bad you can't get it.

Magpie
06-13-2013, 09:45 PM
That would be legal since transports do not count.

Be careful there, transports do count, it's only if they MUST start in reserves that they don't. Which in this case is fine because the transport is a flyer.

SacredChao
06-14-2013, 01:51 AM
Be careful there, transports do count, it's only if they MUST start in reserves that they don't. Which in this case is fine because the transport is a flyer.

Actually, the correct wording is "DEDICATED TRANSPORTS". In the event of the Storm Raven, it is never a dedicated transport, thus while the flyer itself does not count towards the minimum unit count, the guys (and dreadnaught) do! Same with Vendettas.

edit: Look under the wording in the BRB for reserves and the 50% rule. It says "Dedicated Transports" not just "Transports"

Magpie
06-14-2013, 01:58 AM
ACTUALLY they don't

From the latest Update FAQ section

Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.

droozy
06-14-2013, 12:47 PM
Thanks guys