Log in

View Full Version : Drop pod and Coteaz



Shadoq
06-01-2013, 05:25 PM
So a bit of a conundrum about this one.
Coteaz and his unit of 5 Jokaero are embarked on a Chimera. A Drop Pod lands 15" or so away from them. The squad immediately disembarks from the drop pod within 6" of it bringing them into the 12" range of Coteaz's I've Been Expecting You rule.

Do Coteaz and his unit get to make a shooting attack against the marines that hopped out?

Per the GK FAQ,
Q: When are the shooting attacks from Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been
Expecting You special rule fired? (p45)
A: They are fired as soon as a unit that is a valid target is placed
on the board. Once the shooting attacks have been resolved,
the unit can complete its move. If the unit is arriving by Deep
Strike, this will be after the scatter has been resolved.

This makes it sound like a couple different things.
1: Only shooting against the Drop Pod itself and not the squad inside
2: Or, the drop pod arrives, the guys inside get out remaining in base contact of the pod, Coteaz and his unit fire, then the unit completes it's disembark move of 6"
3: Or, something completely different



Thoughts?

Thanks!

DarkLink
06-01-2013, 06:42 PM
Yes, he does. It's even in the FAQ:


Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore,count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz’sI’ve Been
Expecting You special rule? (p45)
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be
able to fire once at each unit.

Magpie
06-01-2013, 06:42 PM
The problem with the FAQ is that both the squad and the Drop Pod are out of range when they arrive.

My thought would be that he cannot attack at all.

In a similar situation if a Rhino entered from the board edge and moved 6" to within range of Coteaz, then the squad disembarks, you'd not be able to shoot the troops as they "arrive" when their transport arrives.

Nabterayl
06-01-2013, 08:27 PM
I concur with Magpie. If the pod had itself landed in range, Coteaz and his squad could shoot at both the pod and its passengers. But remember that I've Been Expecting You tolls at the instant the squad hits the board. As page 79 reminds us, the proper disembarkation procedure is to place each disembarking model in base contact with an access point and then make a normal move, provided that no matter how fast the model can normally move it must end wholly within 6" of the access point against which it was initially placed. Disembarking units do not actually hit the board within 6" of the transport, even though many of us probably simply place our disembarking passengers within 6" as a matter of expedience.

I think if one remembers that procedure, that makes it clear that I've Been Expecting You only works if one or more passengers are within 12" when placed in contact with an access point. Everything else is a normal move, and once a unit has made a normal move it's too late for I've Been Expecting You.

Shadoq
06-02-2013, 12:25 AM
I concur with Magpie. If the pod had itself landed in range, Coteaz and his squad could shoot at both the pod and its passengers. But remember that I've Been Expecting You tolls at the instant the squad hits the board. As page 79 reminds us, the proper disembarkation procedure is to place each disembarking model in base contact with an access point and then make a normal move, provided that no matter how fast the model can normally move it must end wholly within 6" of the access point against which it was initially placed. Disembarking units do not actually hit the board within 6" of the transport, even though many of us probably simply place our disembarking passengers within 6" as a matter of expedience.

I think if one remembers that procedure, that makes it clear that I've Been Expecting You only works if one or more passengers are within 12" when placed in contact with an access point. Everything else is a normal move, and once a unit has made a normal move it's too late for I've Been Expecting You.

Thanks for the reply with rules page quote.
That makes sense to me now. I had thought that they immediately disembarked per the drop pod rule and their first contact with the board was at up to 6" from the hull. Been playing this game too darn long and missing those little middle steps :-)

The sad thing is that it was irrelevant on the whole because the gamer rage quit at the bottom of turn 1 even though his stuff was in a strong position but that is life for you...

DarkLink
06-02-2013, 12:44 AM
I think there's actually a third Coteaz FAQ that explains that scenario. I missed that the OP noted that the Drop Pod landed out of range.

Themaninthegreenhat
06-03-2013, 08:08 AM
Hi!

Coudln't find the reply in the FAQ, but as a fellow Grey knight-Inqhench fan i can tell you how i play it. I play it as the above have said, if the Drop pod is out of range but the disembarkers aren't then i can't have been expecting them. But i have seen Matches where both arguments are valid.