PDA

View Full Version : Basilisks and Multiple Barrage



SlavesToDarkness
11-05-2009, 05:18 PM
I am a little unclear about the rules for multiple barrages when applied to ordnance barrages. If I have a squadron of 2 basilisks, will each shot be resolved seperately, or will they be resolved together as a multiple barrage?

Secondly, what if I have a squadron of a basilisk and a griffon? Is it still a multiple barrage? Can I use the griffon to line up the basilisk's shot? And what if the griffon is out of range, but the basilisk is not?

Lord Azaghul
11-05-2009, 05:27 PM
A basilisk can fire in 1 of three ways.
Direct fire – ignoring min range, no longer a ‘barrage’ shot
LOS barrage – min range applies, but BS is subtrated from roll
Indirect Barrage – min range applies, no BS is subrtracted from roll

IF you firing multiple basililks, you can either fire then directly, and each one would fire just like you would a battle cannon. IF you fire them as a Barrage, the first shot is marked as normal, then the second is placed according to the ‘barrage’ rules. You can also fire one directly and one barrage. Of course you must target the same unit.

Mixed unit barrage. If one is out of range it doesn’t fire. All else should follow the barrage rules.

Nabterayl
11-05-2009, 05:42 PM
Can I use the griffon to line up the basilisk's shot? And what if the griffon is out of range, but the basilisk is not?

The first template placed is that of the closest model firing (see page 32). So as long as the Griffon is the closest vehicle to the target and is in range, the Griffon's shot is placed first - which means you can use it to "line up" the Basilisk's. Of course, if the Griffon is out of range, the Griffon does not shoot, in which case its template is not placed, and thus cannot be used to "line up" the Basilisk's.

Tacoo
11-06-2009, 08:54 AM
im not too good with shoting rules but ill posat my qeuestion here so i dont have to start a new thread.

when firing a barrge do i have to declare if the other 2 vechicles in the squadron are joining in the barrage or can i decide if there going to fire off the first's template after its scattered?

Nabterayl
11-06-2009, 10:10 AM
No, you need to declare up front which vehicles are firing or not firing (and since the whole unit must fire at the same target, if any are not firing, they aren't firing at anything else either).