PDA

View Full Version : Dark Elf advice please

redrio
10-31-2009, 07:14 AM
hey, I've been playing 40k for 15 years but never played Fantasy... It's a bit of a shame really, so I'm branching out and want to play DE.

Looking for advice on what to take/avoid...?

I don't want to be all beardy and stuff, as I'm mainly a hobby gamer rather than tournaments, but I do want a list that is capable of winning games.

Advise me, please......

icecube
11-01-2009, 09:45 AM
Why don´t you start by telling what you want out of the list, like mass shooting, magick phase domination, close combat ? Then it´s easier to help.

redrio
11-02-2009, 08:23 AM
mostly combat, I want to avoid magic if possible (don't like it) and some backup shooting. Was thinking a couple of 10 man crossbow squads, a reaper or 2, a hydra, some blocks of spearmen and some cold one knights then characters and assassins

Confuddled
11-02-2009, 11:46 PM
Um. Well, it really depends on you – there really aren’t any BAD close-combat units in the Dark Elf list per se.

Its worth noting, however, that Dark Elf armies have the potential to concentrate purely on combat characters, trusting in the Ring of Hotek and numbers to compensate for enemy magic.

For instance, a list optimised for close combat might look something like this:

Master, Army General, Armour of Darkness, Ring of Hotek, Manticore, lance
Master BSB, heavy armour, shield, sea dragon cloak, dark steed, Standard of Hag Graef
Assassin, Rending Stars, Manbane

2x5 Dark Riders, musician
3x5 Harpies
12 Crossbowmen, shields, musician

6 Shades

21 Executioners, full command, War Banner
21 Black Guard, full command, Banner of Murder

2 Hydras

Comes to just about 2230 points

General shuts down enemy magic, either by staying near key units OR flying up to buzz the other guy’s mages.

Master probably hangs with the Executioners, with the Black Guard right next to them – they just march straight down the centre and DARE anyone to charge them.