PDA

View Full Version : Who has written the Best Codexs & Why?

imperialsavant
10-30-2009, 06:18 PM
;) O.K. Gang!
Here is one to get your Teeth into!
Who has written the best & most Balanced Codexs?? Who has written the Worst??
Think back over both past & present Codexs & let us know who has penned the very Best & Worst.
Please give your reasons & comments. Go to IT! :)

DarkLink
10-31-2009, 01:55 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb here and guess that a bunch of Chaos players are going to chime in expressing their eternal and undying hatred for the writer of the Chaos codex:p. To them I have to say "why you gotta be such an [expletive]". It's a frickin' game.

I only started playing in 4th ed, so I don't know much about older codex releases.

I'll say that the best codex writer is the guy who did the IG codex. It's not the most balanced codex in the world (definitely near the top of the power totem pole), but I've heard nothing but good things from the people who use it.

Second best I know of is the Space Wolves codex. Aside from complaints about Jaws, and a fair number of unclear rules that have popped up (which is the norm for GW anyways), it seems very fun, fluffy and competitive.

Col.Gravis
10-31-2009, 07:03 AM
I'd second the Guard Codex's author, Robin Cruddace, it's a good solid army book, good core choices, and lots of nice toys which are fun and for the most part are also pretty balanced if not good all round choices, IMHO it's an example of how they should be, though I am probably a little bias!

Old_Paladin
10-31-2009, 10:59 AM
Well, that's quite a mixed question; best codex and balanced don't always have anything to do with each other.

I think the most balanced codex written is the Chaos codex. It's not the best, but it's really good. Although Fluff took a backseat to simpiler rules.