PDA

View Full Version : 1850 Tau: Balanced, First Attempt

ElectricPaladin
04-09-2013, 01:52 PM
This is my first attempt at a "balanced" Tau list. Basically, this is the kind of list I would have played once upon a time with the old codex, only with stuff that actually works as designed. I have ideas for lists that are super sneaky, super "big guns," Darkstrider and pathfinders, stealth blobs, and all sorts of stuff... but for now, a balanced sort of TAC list. What do you think?

HQ
• XV8 Commander (2 Shield Drones) w/Iridium Battlesuit, Cyclic Ion Blaster, Plasma Rifle

Troops
• 10 Fire Warriors w/Bonding Knife Ritual, Pulse Rifles (Shas'ui)
° Devilfish w/Disruption Pod, Gun Drones, Sensor Spines
• 10 Fire Warriors w/Bonding Knife Ritual, Pulse Rifles (Shas'ui)
• 10 Kroot Carnivores w/Sniper Rounds, Shaper, 3 Krootox

Elites
• Riptide w/Ion Accelerator, Twin-Linked Plasma Rifles, Early Warning Override, Velocity Tracker, 2 Shielded Missile Drones
• 3 Crisis Suits w/Fusion Blaster, Plasma Rifle (Shas'vre)

Fast Attack
• 10 Pathfinders w/Bonding Knife Ritual (Shas'ui)
• 5 Pathfinders (Recon Drone) (4 w/Ion Rifles) (Shas'ui)

Heavy Support
• Hammerhead w/Disruption Pod, Railgun (+ Submunitions)
• 3 Broadsides w/Heavy Rail Rifles, Smart Missile Systems, Target Lock (Shas'vre w/High Yield Missile Pod, Velocity Tracker)

Let's see... the hammerhead scoots back and forth to generate cover and shoots at things. The broadsides camp some cover and shoot things. The unmounted pathfinders deploy centrally, then use their Scout redeploy to react to my opponent's deployment, then markerlight stuff. The mounted pathfinders are all about board control. Their job is to use their recon drone to help me control where outflanking kroot arrive or keep my deep striking crisis suits (riptide, even?) from deviating. They're armed with ion rifles so they can contribute to the trouble shooting by... shooting at trouble.

Of course, the riptide and crisis suits are the real troubleshooters.