PDA

View Full Version : Don't Buy Army painter products

White Tiger88
03-30-2013, 08:22 PM
Well its safe to say i have tried\tested lots of army painter brand items and now i have had the ultimate kick in the balls a can of there matt sealer just ruined my WHOLE DEMON ARMY when i went to seal them so thats time,money and a whole damn army down the tube unless i can figure out how to fix the frost effect they gave my models! So as a suggestion to all painters i will say do not buy any of there crap products.

Maelstorm
03-30-2013, 08:35 PM
I've used several Army Painter colored primers with great effect. I have no experience with their matte sealer.

For matte sealer, I stick with Krylon products. They make/sell more paints than all of the little toy hobby companies (GW, P3, Army Painter, Reaper, etc.) combined and their product is always consistent.

Sorry I have no advice for repairing the dreaded frost effect...

Send the company a polite/well-worded note expressing your problem and see if they have a recommendation.

ElectricPaladin
03-30-2013, 09:21 PM
I have the ultimate fix for Frosted Army Syndrome (FAS). Here it is:

1) Re-seal your army with a high-gloss spray sealant (I recommend Testor's).
2) Once that's dry, spray again with a matte sealant that you trust (again, I recommend Testor's, though I've also had luck with GW's Purity Seal... except for that one time that my can got old and funky).

Seriously, the layer of high-gloss sealant will kill the frost, and then the layer of matte sealant will give you the satiny effect you were originally going for. I just used this technique to save a squad of ten Eldar warp spiders I had entirely given up on. It will work.

Sly
03-30-2013, 09:23 PM
I've found Testors matte sealer to be the best, though it only comes in cans too small for 40k armies :(.