PDA

View Full Version : Deepstrike misshape/ongoing reserves



Anakzar
02-24-2013, 08:16 PM
When a unit gets placed into ongoing reserves does it come on from the owning players table edge or can it attempt to deepstrike again?

Lord Krungharr
02-24-2013, 09:21 PM
If the unit was declared to be Deepstriking during the deployment you'd have to re-Deepstrike it, or in the case of the old Daemons Codex you'd have to do that as well (of course who knows what the new Codex will hold :)

If the unit was some Necrons on board a Night Scythe which got destroyed from a mishap, then the Warriors (or whatever Necrons they were) actually walk on from your board edge. That's in the new FAQ I think.

Nabterayl
02-25-2013, 01:52 AM
I concur. Units that get placed into Ongoing Reserves due to a Deep Strike mishap can (indeed, must) Deep Strike the following turn.

Units in Ongoing Reserves "otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves," as page 125 says. The normal rules for Reserves are found on page 124, which states in relevant part:


When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move fully onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge (maps and diagrams illustrating table edges for the different deployment methods are shown on page 119). Models that are arriving by Deep Strike or Outflank deploy using their special rules (see pages 36 and 40) (emphasis added).

From this, we can see that Deep Strike and Outflank are included in the "normal rules for Reserves." This is not a case of two rules, but one. The rules are not structured so that the Reserves rule tells you to walk on the board (one rule), and the Deep Strike rule tells you to arrive via the Deep Strike process (another rule). Rather, the Reserves rule itself tells you to walk on the board unless you are Deep Striking or Outflanking. Thus, when Ongoing Reserves refers us to the "normal rules for Reserves," we need have no doubt that Deep Strike is included.