PDA

View Full Version : Reserves question



RGilbert26
01-23-2013, 09:58 AM
I've got 3 units riding inside their Night Scythe transports which means they count as 3 units in reserve. I also have Anrakyar and a Cryptek either joined to the same unit or two separate units which makes 5 units in reserve. I then have 3 other units sitting on the board so if my maths is right I can't start like that :(

So my question is:

Does the Cryptek count as a unit for reserves even though he doesn't take up a FO slot?

Also would I be correct in thinking I either put one immortal unit on the ground or just the Cryptek?

jimmyriddle
01-23-2013, 10:32 AM
I'm sure someone will correct me if I've got this wrong, but If a unit has to start in reserve then it does not count towards the reserve % count (like Drop pods), if an IC is attached to a unit it counts as one unit for both the IC and squad.

So if your Night Scythes have to start in reserve, then you actually have 0-3 with respect to how many units must be on the board, which is fine.

I could be wrong, as I'm new to this.

Daemonette666
01-23-2013, 11:13 AM
I just checked the rules for Reserves on page 124 BRB. ICs are counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined another unit or not.

Units and their transports that have to start in reserves (such as fliers and drop pods) do not count towards the 50% max that can be put in reserves.

You need only make one Reserve roll for a transport vehicle, the unit it is carrying and any attached ICs though.

RGilbert26
01-24-2013, 02:52 PM
So in other words the 2 HQs are the only thing that count towards my 50% reserve?

Nabterayl
01-24-2013, 02:59 PM
Nothing in a flyer counts towards your 50% reserve. So whether the HQs count depends on whether they're in a flyer or not.