PDA

View Full Version : 1500pt Deathwing for league

JMichael
01-17-2013, 04:27 PM
Our 30year old gaming store is running it's 3rd 40k league.
I won the first with my Sisters and the second with my Eldar (teamed with another Eldar player). Both were escalation.

So this league is 1500pt round robin with static lists (they must remain unchanged for the entire league).

With the new Dark Angel codex, and me already owning some Deathwing (use them as allies for my Sisters). I want to play a Deathwing army for the league.

As a relative Space Marine tactics (other than beating them!) noob here is what I'm planning and some of my thoughts!

HQ
190- Belial [stock load out]. Joins the Assault Cannon Deathwing Squad
136 - Librarian Terminator (ML 2, Combi-Melta). Joins the Deathwing Knights for a 4+ Deny the Witch and 5 Toughness | considering taking an Int Chaplain instead

Elites
245 - Deathwing Knights with the Relic. >OR< 295 - Deathwing Command x5 (Halberd, Assault Cannon, Chainfist, Deathwing Banner)

Troops
387 - Deathwing Terminators x8 (Assault Cannon, Chainfist, 2x T/S, Lightning Claws)
328 - Deathwing Terminators x7 (Plasma Cannon, Chainfist, Lightning Claws)

Heavy
135 - Deathwing Dreadnought (Deathwing, Multi-Melta, Hvy Flamer)
45 - Drop Pod

So again, the only Marine experience I have is 2 Deathwing squads as allies for my Sisters (who are nearly undefeated in 6th edition!).

Plan:
Deathwing Assault all Terminators on turn 1.
Deep Strike the Dread in the Drop Pod more as a harrasing unit and to give the enemy something else to shoot it's big guns with.
Was toying with the idea of Dread dropping in on turn 1 and hopping the Drop Pod survives so the Deathwing Assault on turn 2 wouldn't scatter.

Flyers? Eh, ignore them and/or hope for some good Assault Cannon shots, but I figure sitting on objectives to win. Smart movement can ensure that even if locked in assault the enemy will be 3" away form the objective with me still holding it.

JMichael