PDA

View Full Version : Can Glaive Encarmines be Power Mauls?



Warpspider89
12-29-2012, 07:41 PM
Name pretty much says it all.

I am looking for the RAW answer.

"Glaive Encarmines follow the rules as described in the Types of Power Weapon section on page 61 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, but also have the Master-crafted and Two-handed special rules." (FAQ 1.1)

It then lists the rules for two forms of power weapons it could take.

Now, is this list evidence of what any profile would be like, or, is this list suggesting that there are only two forms of power weapons?

My thoughts:

The question specifically asked about power axes/swords. Therefore, the answer in the FAQ was tailored to answer the question. It provides no conclusive evidence that would disallow the use of power mauls or power lances since the answer specifically states they follow the "rules as described in the Types of Power Weapon section" and do not have any restrictions written other than that they are equipped with "power weapons".

Learn2Eel
12-29-2012, 08:31 PM
It says that Glaive Encarmines would follow either the power axe or power sword profile;


They would therefore have the following profiles.

Glaive Encarmine (Sword) ....
Glaive Encarmine (Axe) ....

If it didn't specifically list those two and say that they would have one of the two following profiles, then I think you would be correct. But otherwise.....I think you would have to ask your opponent about it. I wouldn't mind personally - what is really so bad about letting you use it as a maul or lance when you can already have either a sword or axe?

plasticaddict
12-29-2012, 08:41 PM
Going by the FAQ it gives you the two profiles that you may use, so the answer to your question would be no. I wouldn't mind myself however GW seems to have different ideas.

Warpspider89
12-29-2012, 10:19 PM
It seems like this particular line about power weapons in the BRB is important.

"If a model's wargear says it has a power weapon which has no further special rules, look at the model to tell which type of power weapon it has: if it's a sword or dagger, it's a power sword; if it's an axe or halberd, it's a power axe; if it's a blunt weapon like a mace or staff, it's a power maul; if it's a spear or lance, it's a power lance" (BRB. pp. 61).

Does "look at the model" refer to the pieces placed on it by the player or that come in the sprues? Also does that question deserve its own thread?

Tynskel
12-29-2012, 11:20 PM
hmmm... the rule of cool seems to work for me.
The FAQ is not clear that the only profiles are the two listed. An interpretation, considering it is a FAQ and not errata, is that they are giving possible examples of how the rules combine.

A Glaive is a polearm. So, I don't see why it could not be a spear, axe, sword, or maul.
Two-Handed Master Crafted Spears sound cool to me. A Maul would be Str 7 on the charge if including Furious Charge.


In fact, you could mount the Angelus Bolter on the Spear, and you would have an cool conversion for the Emperor's Guard. Str 6 AP 3 on the charge is pretty nasty (including furious charge).

Nabterayl
12-30-2012, 12:58 AM
I am looking for the RAW answer.
Silly though it may be to have a "glaive" that is a bludgeoning weapon, I think the RAW answer is yes. "They would therefore have the following profiles" plainly seems to me to be illustrative language. Consider also that (at least as far as I know) there's only one "official" glaive encarmine bit, which means the FAQ is implicitly telling us that players could disagree as to whether that bit is a power sword or a power axe, based on their perception of the actual object held by the models. Thus, the FAQ is telling us to look at the actual object and apply our own judgment - so if the model is holding a maul, it's holding a [maul] encarmine.

Learn2Eel
12-30-2012, 04:22 AM
Silly though it may be to have a "glaive" that is a bludgeoning weapon, I think the RAW answer is yes. "They would therefore have the following profiles" plainly seems to me to be illustrative language. Consider also that (at least as far as I know) there's only one "official" glaive encarmine bit, which means the FAQ is implicitly telling us that players could disagree as to whether that bit is a power sword or a power axe, based on their perception of the actual object held by the models. Thus, the FAQ is telling us to look at the actual object and apply our own judgment - so if the model is holding a maul, it's holding a [maul] encarmine.

Works for me!

Also Tynskel, I like your idea. I have a Chaos Lord modeled with a Guardian Spear, basically it is a really awesome way of displaying just how powerful the bugger is!

Houghten
12-30-2012, 06:02 AM
The FAQ only gives those two examples because those are the only two types of weapon you get in the Sanguinary Guard box. It doesn't preclude you from converting your own.

Anggul
12-30-2012, 06:48 AM
RAW, they have to be Swords or Axes due to the FAQ. I don't imagine it would be much of a problem for most people though. Those kinds of people don't let Noise Champions have a combat weapon and a bolt pistol, which while by RAW is correct, is obviously unintentional and any decent human being would allow it.

Tynskel
12-30-2012, 12:29 PM
Actually, the FAQ is not explicit as to what weapons they are.
The language used shows examples, not explicit 'must be'. The language states it is a power weapon as described in the book with the additional universal special rules, and then gives 2 examples. They could have ignored all the book references and just list the 2 weapons, as they did with all the other weapons in the FAQ for Blood Angels.

I do agree that a maul is pushing the meaning of 'Glaive'. Even though many glaives did have blunt ends on the 'other side' of the polearm, there was usually a blade of some sort, whether a spear, sword, or axe.

Houghten
12-30-2012, 03:10 PM
The polearm part is also completely essential to the glaive-y-ness, so it's clearly just an example of terrible, horrible naming.