PDA

View Full Version : Concerning Obliterators and Transports



herigonz
12-29-2012, 10:35 AM
Just curious, I know that Obliterators cannot take Dedicated Transports themselves (no option in the book), but are Land Raiders the only vehicle that will carry them otherwise? I think the old codex gave them Terminator armor but now they're Bulky Daemons with Fleshmetal (might be Very Bulky even).

hah, normally I wouldn't think twice of taking a transport for them as I normally deploy them somewhere or at worst Deep Strike them (and come to think of it, I'm not sure they can Deep Strike anymore). That said, I am playing in a campaign and if all my units are inside of transports (or have a ride - i.e. like a bike) they can move further and attack other hexes.

So yeah, is a Land Raider their only option? I'm thinking I will just stick to no transport but thanks for any help with this!

Nabterayl
12-29-2012, 02:36 PM
Yes, it is. Chaos Rhinos don't have the rule prohibiting terminator-armored models from riding, but instead have a rule on page 54 stating "Chaos Rhinos cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" (while Chaos terminator armor has a rule on page 68 stating "Furthermore, models in Terminator armour have the Bulky ... special rule[]."

mysterex
12-29-2012, 02:45 PM
Just curious, I know that Obliterators cannot take Dedicated Transports themselves (no option in the book), but are Land Raiders the only vehicle that will carry them otherwise? I think the old codex gave them Terminator armor but now they're Bulky Daemons with Fleshmetal (might be Very Bulky even).

hah, normally I wouldn't think twice of taking a transport for them as I normally deploy them somewhere or at worst Deep Strike them (and come to think of it, I'm not sure they can Deep Strike anymore). That said, I am playing in a campaign and if all my units are inside of transports (or have a ride - i.e. like a bike) they can move further and attack other hexes.

So yeah, is a Land Raider their only option? I'm thinking I will just stick to no transport but thanks for any help with this!

In terms of the chaos codex yes. The only other transport vehicle is the rhino and the rules for that state it can't carry models with the bulky special rule.

When it comes to allied vehicles no one can use an allied transport.

This means the only other way you could transport obliterators would be if forge world produces a CSM vehicle with transport capability.

Also I've just checked - obliterators still have deep strike.

Nabterayl
12-29-2012, 02:49 PM
This means the only other way you could transport obliterators would be if forge world produces a CSM vehicle with transport capability.

Well, Dreadclaws can carry Obliterators, and they're 40K-legal. The only transport option in the printed codex, though, is a Land Raider.

vharing
12-29-2012, 04:33 PM
The FW Stormeagle can also carry them.