PDA

View Full Version : Abaddon's Daemon Weapon.



Abominable Plague Marine
10-17-2009, 05:51 AM
Hey guys. Im attending a tournament next weekend and would like to get the astute forum members of BOLS opinions on this matter. I am taking Abaddon for the first time since 2nd ed so have no idea really how to use him or how his Daemon Weapon works.

Im of two opinions, both of which equally nasty, so let me know which you think is right or how it is supposed to be played if both of these are wrong.

1. Abaddon has all 5 marks of Chaos, therefore, all Daemon Weapon abilities apply except where noted differently on page 46.

2. The rules on page 46 for Abaddons Daemon Weapon completely replace those in the Daemon Weapon entry (therefore he doesnt hurt himself on a roll of a 1, but instead would get the +1 attack).

Thanks for your help.
APM

EmperorEternalXIX
10-17-2009, 05:57 AM
I would say you are likely mistaken about both assumptions, though the Chaos Codex isn't numero uno in my knowledge base.

Daemon weapons aren't really affected by the marks. The marks determine which unique daemon weapon you can take, not what generic daemon weapon wargear does.

In any case, they all have the "if you roll 1 you are boned" thing, if I recall, which means that your second assumption is probably wrong too.

Abominable Plague Marine
10-17-2009, 06:04 AM
I know, I know. One thing that hasnt carried over from previous editions of the Chaos Codex is where it says Abaddon's mastery of the Daemon Weapon is complete, so option 2 was actually the more logical choice for me where as the first one was more like wishful thinking.

Jwolf
10-17-2009, 07:13 AM
He rolls for attacks, and pokes himself in the eye on a roll of 1.

His close combat attacks are resolved as described in his description, which is generally pretty darn good.

DarkLink
10-17-2009, 11:14 AM
Just like Jwolf says.

Rules-wise, Abaddon doesn't have all 4 marks. He has one mark; the mark of Chaos Ascendent. The mark gives him a 4+ invulnerable, +1 I, A and T. That is all it does, because that is all the rules say it does.

The rules for Abaddon's Daemon Weapon are also listed, and are seperate from the other Daemon Weapons. So, Abaddon has a Daemon Weapon (which, by default inclict a wound on a 1, and there is nothing in Abaddon's rules to contradict that) which doubles his strenght and allows him to reroll all to wound rolls. It also specifies that Abaddon's Daemon weapon grants him +d6 attacks, like normal (so the possibility of getting +2d6 from the mark of Khorne is right out).

entendre_entendre
10-17-2009, 03:11 PM
yup abaddon's got b/w 6-10 attacks normally (if he doesn't emo cut himself with the blade) at S8 with re-rolls to wound (non EW char killer). don't forget he's immune to ID, so rush him at those PF guys you'd normally stay away from, but send him with a squad (i like beserkers or termies) so just in case he decides to slit his wrists, you can still fight back.

Abominable Plague Marine
10-17-2009, 06:51 PM
Well, that was a pretty quick and clear concensus. It seems though that Abaddon is not the Warmaster he used to be, I dare say this will be the first and last time I take him to a tournament as well.

Thanks for your help guys.