Log in

View Full Version : Acute Senses & Storm Caller



PinoyC
10-13-2009, 10:59 PM
More SW questions...surprise surprise.

1. Do SW vehicles get acute senses?

2. Storm Caller now says it affects squads...does that include squadrons of Land Speeders?

PC

slxiii
10-14-2009, 01:17 AM
More SW questions...surprise surprise.

1. Do SW vehicles get acute senses?

2. Storm Caller now says it affects squads...does that include squadrons of Land Speeders?

PC

1. No

2. This will probably be errata-ed to say units or models, but otherwise I would say Infantry and models with a wound characteristic only

DarkLink
10-14-2009, 10:13 AM
Well, every single model in the game counts as a unit (or part of a unit), including Landspeeder Squadrons. So they'd have to say Infantry or models with wounds.

mkerr
10-14-2009, 12:53 PM
1. Do SW vehicles get acute senses?

2. Storm Caller now says it affects squads...does that include squadrons of Land Speeders?

1. No, each model/unit with Acute Senses has the special rule listed in their unit entry.

2. Yes, as long as one of the Land Speeders is within 6" of the Rune Priest.

-- mkerr

Nabterayl
10-14-2009, 01:34 PM
I'd say no on Storm Caller affecting vehicle squadrons. Squadron is a term that is only ever applied in the rules to vehicles, and in ordinary military parlance would only apply to groups of vehicles and groups of cavalry. "Squad" is a term that never applies to vehicles, either in the rulebook or in ordinary military parlance, so I would limit Storm Caller to non-monstrous creature units with wounds.*

* Admittedly, "squad" is never defined, and oftentimes bikes and jetbikes are formed into "squadrons" similar to cavalry. Artillery crews are not "squads" in ordinary military parlance either. If an opponent wanted to get pedantic about it, I would rather limit Storm Caller to infantry and jump infantry than extend it to vehicle squadrons. But I think the more common-sense way to do it is to say that Storm Caller extends to models with wounds that are smaller than MCs.

Denzark
10-14-2009, 02:41 PM
I'd say no on Storm Caller affecting vehicle squadrons. Squadron is a term that is only ever applied in the rules to vehicles, and in ordinary military parlance would only apply to groups of vehicles and groups of cavalry. "Squad" is a term that never applies to vehicles, either in the rulebook or in ordinary military parlance, so I would limit Storm Caller to non-monstrous creature units with wounds.*

* Admittedly, "squad" is never defined, and oftentimes bikes and jetbikes are formed into "squadrons" similar to cavalry. Artillery crews are not "squads" in ordinary military parlance either. If an opponent wanted to get pedantic about it, I would rather limit Storm Caller to infantry and jump infantry than extend it to vehicle squadrons. But I think the more common-sense way to do it is to say that Storm Caller extends to models with wounds that are smaller than MCs.

And in ordinary military parlance Squadron is:
Royal Engineers
Royal Signals
Special Air Service
Royal Air Force Aircraft Squadrons
Royal Air force Regiment Squadrons
USAF Security Police Squadrons
etc
etc
etc

Nabterayl
10-14-2009, 02:53 PM
Fair enough, but can you think of any vehicle formations that are called "squads?" That's the wording to focus on, from a rules perspective.

From a common sense perspective, am I the only one who thinks it seems bizarre to read the rule so that it affects groups of vehicles but not individual vehicles?

wolflold
10-22-2009, 04:16 AM
I think a vehicle is a unit as well. Otherwise it would say infantry or something like that.

Nabterayl
10-22-2009, 11:16 AM
I think a vehicle is a unit as well. Otherwise it would say infantry or something like that.

Nobody disputes that a vehicle is a unit. The question is whether a vehicle is a squad, or whether a vehicle squadron is a squad. I think the answer to both those questions is no.

SeattleDV8
10-22-2009, 09:43 PM
The problem is without a definition of the word "squad" you can't make a clear ruling.
In that SW have no squads (only packs) are you claiming the power has no effect?
Nowhere did they limit the powers effect to certain units (like JotWW)
The words squad, pack, mob etc. are all used interchangably with 'unit'.
Therefore that which affects a squad is affecting a unit.
I would allow the power to give a vehicle a cover save.

Nabterayl
10-22-2009, 10:35 PM
The problem is without a definition of the word "squad" you can't make a clear ruling.
In that SW have no squads (only packs) are you claiming the power has no effect?
I'm aware that the lack of definition of "squad" creates a problem. Since there is no definition, I prefer to use a common sense/vernacular definition. And there is no vernacular I'm aware of where "squad" refers to groups of vehicles, or still less, a single vehicle.

If somebody can come up with a rules cite where the term "squad" refers to a vehicle squadron or a single vehicle, I'd be very interested. That would certainly affect my opinion.